Old Fashioned Creamy Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
The recipe is a great starter and you can add whatever you like. I added 1 c coconut milk and 1 c whole milk with 2 c cooked rice. I did not use the butter but did add cinnamon. Everyone loves it and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I made this recipe just now and my husband ate it while it was still warm. I doubled the recipe and forgot to add in the last 1 cup of milk(1 cup since it was doubled). I also used equal parts condensed milk and water instead of regular milk. I omitted the raisins and added cinnamon. It was a hit! This is going into my recipe box. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Didn't add the butter and used yellow sugar instead if white, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Battle Crow

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
First time making rice pudding but everyone loved it. Lots of changes to it but thankful for the instructions on the procedure. I used more eggs (we have chickens and to many eggs) brown sugar instead of white, nutmeg, cinnamon, clove, ginger (tiny bit), more vanilla, and almond extract, raisins and craisins, and a bit of tapioca just to see. It came out great I've now made it 2x first time I tripled it 2nd time 5x we'll see how it freezes for lunches. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavn4ever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Such a delicious, "comfort-food" dessert! I omitted the raisins and the salt, and topped the finished pudding with cinnamon. I will definitely be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Nice and easy to make and it did get nice and creamy. However, I found the pudding to be quite bland. I added cinnamon as well but was still unimpressed with the flavor. Nothing to really grab my attention. Perhaps if brown sugar or maple syrup was used in place of the white sugar it would have had a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
My family loved this recipe! I didn't have any plain white sugar so I used cinnamon sugar. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hjstep

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Yum! I did have to sub craisins for the raisins because that's what I had. It was delicious! My girls thought it would be disgusting, first because it contained rice, and secondly was a DESSERT containing rice, but even they gave it thumbs up. It was creamy and fabulous, even with one percent milk. Thanks for a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This recipe is great. I did make a double batch using one can of condensed milk as well and also added half a tsp of cinnamon. It's delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I used with almond milk since the only other milk I had was 1/2%. I also put in cranberries since I had no raisins. The taste and consistency was good. I was worried about it being too thin like the other reviewers, but I just let the pudding sit for a bit to thicken up more. My son kept wanting more and more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States