Old Fashioned Creamy Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Worked pretty well; tripled the portions. Also, used left-over jasmine rice, cinnamon stick vs. ground, condensed milk and added a little lemon juice. Added a little extra salt to balance out the sweet. Also works with real maple syrup vs. sugar. Left out raisins as not a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Yum. Only reason i rated 5* and not 6* is because it was missing cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mor Esco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is terrific! I added cinnamon and nutmeg when I took it off the burner to make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Cada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Absolutely perfect... will be making this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by Meladori
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
I doubled this recipe, and used about half a cup less 2% milk and organic brown sugar instead of white. Added cinnamon. Tempered the eggs. Simmered on low until it thickened - just be patient. Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Yummy and creamy. I doubled the recipe and used a can of evaporated milk in place of some of the regular milk. I did NOT find it soupy. It was too sweet for us though (personal preference) so I will cut the sugar back next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
AWESOME!!! I love rice pudding but I hate all the work with the other recipes. I made by the recipe except I added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and omitted the raisins. Great use of leftover rice. I thought mine was going to be soupy but I let is simmer on low while I finished dinner and by the time we ate, it was so creamy and delicious. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
My first time making rice pudding and this recipe was pretty easy. I cooked the rice in a rice cooker (just rice and water), once ready I put it in a pot on the stovetop and followed the directions. I subbed the sugar for sweetened condensed milk to my liking. I also added vanilla bean seeds. Looks and tastes amazing! Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I loved this, I had leftover rice and really wanted something sweet. I've never tried rice pudding before but thought I'd give it a try and I'm glad I did. This recipe is good and is simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Really liked it! Very creamy. I tweaked it a little by adding half the milk and half condensed milk to sweeten it a little more. Added some cinnamon and omitted the raisins. YUMMY! This will be perfect for Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shakeicia Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States