Old Fashioned Creamy Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Instead of an egg, I used 2tbsp cornstarch with 3tbsp water and added it with the sugar, rest of the milk, and raisins. And secondly, instead of raisins I used chopped dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachael B
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Tasty and creamy. I would probably only use egg whites next time though since I like the look of stark white rice. Jasmine rice was used and cinnamon to taste. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I just made this pudding with a few modifications since I'm on a diet, and it's really good. I started with 1 12-oz. can fat free evaporated milk and a half cup skim milk with 3 cups of rice. I cooked as directed, then added 2 beaten eggs (adding a little hot mixture to the eggs to avoid the eggs cooking), a cup of skim milk, and substituted 1/2 cup of agave syrup for the white sugar. I omitted the raisins and butter and added nutmeg for flavor. I cooked it until it was pudding consistency. Very good! I'll take this to work with me and enjoy it all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Gabriel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Fantastic did everything as stated besides skipped raisons and butter. Cooked for like 10-12 minutes then added last bit of milk, egg, and sugar i had mixed together in a wet measuring cup. Then whisked that into the already cooking ingredients. Egg set in 5ish minutes. I just kept stirring and cooking until pudding consistancy and then took off heat and it thickened more. Tasted just like my dad's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex Swanson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I have a more creamy less rice pudding. Cooked it slower and stirred constantly adding milk until it reached a thick, creamy consistency. Rice being a grain gets its best flavor from salt. I add a little at a time throughout the cooking until it is no longer bland as one cook mentioned. Sweet and salt is the best. No matter how much milk you add it can be cooked down to give you a very creamy product. Make sure you temper the egg by adding a bit of the hot mixture in the beaten egg until it comes closer to the hot pudding and whisk in a little at a time. Done this way, you will not end up with soup, but will spend more time cooking. Be patient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Coconut milk worked like a champ with jasmine rice! Used 1 can of coconut milk. Also added some cinnamon. I did blend those last few ingredients, including the egg, in a small mixing bowl then added slowly. Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
So easy. I had some mushy rice, must have done too much water in my rice cooker, so this cooked up quicker in the first stage for me, less than 15mins. I added cardamom which you either love or hate but if you love it, do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Murray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I'm a seasoned cook but not so much with desserts. This was my first time making rice pudding. Followed the recipe exactly but subbed dried cranberries for the raisins. It was delicious and everything I had hoped it'd be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Very good - It reminds me of my mom's rice pudding - she could never give me her exact recipe. It does seem to be missing something - could be creamier? Yet - I've made this several times and am happy with how it turns out. Be careful when adding egg to the hot rice mixture -you need to temper the egg by adding a little bit of the hot liquid to the egg (and milk and sugar) and stir - and add more hot rice mixture and stir then add egg mixture to the rest of the rice and mix. This gently heats up the egg so you don't end up with scrambled egg in your rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungry

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
My husband is a lover of rice pudding and this is his favourite recipe the only thing is ad cinnamon and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States