Old Fashioned Creamy Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This is the best rice pudding. I split the milk in half and added whipping cream. Creamy, great taste and I also added a bit more salt to bring out the flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Rush Cox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Turned out so yummy. I used Craisins because that's all I had on hand... Still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Although I subbed soy milk and coconut oil for milk and butter, I'm sure this recipe would also be delicious as-is. Not overly sweet, not too plain once it's studded with raisins - this one is a winner. Next time I'll try browning the butter (my mom's trick) to add a new level of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I had some leftover rice and decided I would like to make rice pudding. I went on line and it seemed as if all the recipes were using uncooked rice. Then I found this recipe which uses cooked rice. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of using half and half instead of milk. The final product tasted very good, after all what recipe with milk, eggs and sugar doesn't taste good? But like several of the other reviews mine never thickened up and was very runny, more like soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I made this and it turned out great. However after reading some other reviews I made a couple small changes to my own. I added an extra 1/2 cup of rice. I cooked the milk rice and salt down until it was a thick mixture. I mixed the egg white sugar and the rest of the milk together before mixing them with the cooked mixture. I also added a whole tap of vanilla instead of the requested 1/2. Much thicker sweet rice pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Second time I've used leftover rice with this recipe. Made as directed. Comes out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Fabulous! I followed the advice of others and cooked it after adding the milk and salt until it was a thick creamy consistency. I had to urn the temp down below medium to prevent burning, as the rice needed more time to soften and absorb the milk. While it was cooking (in between stirring) I beat the egg into the remaining 1/2 cup milk. I added the sugar and stirred until dissolved. I added this to the pot, pouring slowly with my left, while stirring the pot with my right. It took longer than the 3 minutes to firm up, probably because I had lowered the heat a bit and was stirring constantly. I added cinnamon with the butter and vanilla just before serving. Next time, I plan on adding it with the egg mixture. Deliciously easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe except the raisins and I didn't have vanilla extract so I substituted with maple syrup but the recipe is awesome and a must save n pass along...it came out perfect by following the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Per my dad, who is now 87 and grew up in Philadelphia, the rice was very large, he said almost like it was soaked in milk. Well, thats what I did. Make the rice, I use Calrose rice, medium grain. The best is the asian rice. Anyhow, I use whole organic milk, and cover the rice just to the top. IMPORTANT: DO NOT REFRIGERATE during this process or rice will get hard. You have to leave it out while it absorbs the milk. This is done before the cooking. Then you have to add the milk the recipe calls for. So if you don't have time, don't soak the rice! Its amazing how much milk the rice absorbs! So years ago I figured this out, and my dad swears this is how the authentic Philly style rice pudding was, but I really think they may have used risotto instead of rice. I tried it before but it was difficult. Anyhow, thats how I've been making this for my dad over the past 25 years. Sad, he's nearing the end of his life, so this batch I just made for Christmas Eve dinner is probably going to be his last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Worked pretty well; tripled the portions. Also, used left-over jasmine rice, cinnamon stick vs. ground, condensed milk and added a little lemon juice. Added a little extra salt to balance out the sweet. Also works with real maple syrup vs. sugar. Left out raisins as not a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States