Old-Fashioned Corn Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Love this recipe. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I made this recipe times 4 since I had so many cukes in my garden. I plan to put it into little jars and give as gifts. I added a few things to the recipe: ( a bit of ginger, fresh dill , garlic and cilantro) be sure to use the amount of sugar on recipe so the liquid thickens properly. great on meats or beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was SO EASY and SO GOOD! I made 10 jars to take to our family reunion for our annual auction and before we got started I opened a jar and put it out with the dinner buffet. It was gone in a snap and then everyone was fighting over the remaining jars during the auction. The last one went for $20! That's how good this stuff is. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayberryGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I made this a couple of weeks ago. We just tried some for supper tonight. WOW!!! This is a great recipe and I will make another batch before the summer is over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
OMG what a GREAT recipe! Followed the recipe exactly with the addition of 1 cup of canned shoepeg white corn, and I cannot say enough positive things about this recipe! Best corn relish I have EVER tasted! Jars of corn relish have disappeared off the shelves of my local stores, so I turned to Alrecipes to once again save the day! Finding this recipe was a complete homerun! It made exactly two quart canning jars. I pealed the cucumbers (wasn't sure if I should or not since recipe didn't say, but I felt it was safer to avoid the possibility of running into thick skin)... and the only other concern I had was the cooking time... I wanted the sauce to thicken, but was afraid of over cooking the finely copped veggies to mush, so I brought it to a full boil, readjusted the burner to lower then just turned it off after 20 minutes. I guess it thickened a bit, but not a great deal... I was unsure from the very brief recipe instructions, but I guess I was worrying about nothing. Bottomline is that this recipe is spot-on perfect! Other than adding a bit more corn, don't change a thing! I don't understand others saying to leave out green pepper and use cabbage... all the corn relish I have ever had used green pepper... leaving it out and using cabbage would completely change the taste I think. Those people should write their own varation recipe, but do yourself a favor and don't change this recipe! I would give it a gazillion stars if I could! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I just made this using 3 cups corn & 1 cup tomatoes. Absolutely delicious. Gave some away and my sister just called for the recipe as her husband finished the jar at suppertime. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tignish, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I only rated this a 4 because it just didn't "wow" me as written. But sure a great idea with just a couple minor tweeks. I subtracted 1 cup of tomatoes and added 1 cup of corn as suggested by others. Perfect suggestion. Next, my own personal tastes called for another 1/2tsp tumeric and 2 tbsp brown sugar. That hit the taste buds just fine. But mine never really thickened, just boiled down but remained watery, so I thickened it a tad with corn starch and water. BINGO. Just the way I was hoping it would be. :) This recipe made 7 250ml jars (7 cups) with a little left over for an immediate sampling at dinner. Will make again for sure. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Easy to make. Delicious on bratwurst!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This is a nice corn relish...I used can corn, can tomatoes and left out the cucumbers..instead used a cup of salad pickle relish, had fresh onion and green pepper... because thats what i had on hand....worked out good...I like the pickle relish in it....makes it go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sohol

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe, it has gotten RAVE reviews when I give away jars, particularly from my in-laws. They keep begging for more! I use the English seedless cucumbers, and leave on the skin but otherwise follow exactly. Thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States