Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Loved this recipe! My son wanted to try coconut cream pie so he found this recipe for me to make. Coworkers who are not coconut fans devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
oh ya! made it with the cornstarch and 1 can of coconut milk and rest up to 3 cups with half and half. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avas meme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Leamington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I made the pie exactly as directed. The filling did not have enough coconut flavor. I should have put more coconut in the filling. It was also too gummy and thick, not light at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Shaw Ardman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I have gone back to this recipe again & again! I used the changes of coconut milk & 1/2 and 1/2, I use the cornstarch, and I make my own whipped cream with coconut extract. I hated the regular crust so I used a graham cracker one instead on the next pie and that was perfect! I used to cook at an assisted living facility and the residents loved this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was WONDERFUL. First time ive ever made a coconut cream pie and my hubby informs me i need to make again :) All our dinner guests loved it! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pshorty
Home Town: South Shore, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I think overall the idea is great. I did use a few alterations that the other reviewers suggested. I only used sweetened, toasted Coconut for the top (which was real whipped cream made from Heavy Cream, Vanilla Extract and Confectioners Sugar), natural unsweetened Coconut for the inside, 3 egg yolks instead of the 2 eggs, 1/3c cornstarch instead of flour, 1 can cream of Coconut (about 1 1/2 cups), and 1 1/2 cups half & half. I also used the microwave suggestion, which was 8 minutes in the microwave, whisking after each minute. The Coconut flavor and consistency were great. For me though, it was WAY too sweet. I think next time I will try it with only 1/2cup of sugar instead of 3/4cup. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
The first time I have ever made a "pudding" from scratch and it was FANTASTIC!! I followed a couple of other reviews. I toasted 1 Cup of coconut, but used untoasted INSIDE the pie. I also added 1 tsp of coconut extract and used 1/3 C of corn starch instead of the flour. I made homemade whipping cream to top it with, then sprinkled the toasted coconut on top. My best friend actually stabbed her husband with a fork when he tried to get another bite...LOL It was the first pie gone after Thansgiving dinner!! After that, everyone SETTLED for pumpkin or chocolate :D I'm making another one today, just to satisfy everyone before they go back to work and school! ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was the hit of the desserts, came out perfect. I did as the viewer suggested and used half coconut milk and also used cornstarch, I did use the full cup of coconut in pie sprinkles some of bottom of cooked crust and then toasted more for the top. With my Mothers pie crust recipe this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very good! I used the flour as suggested and but subbed the 1/2 and 1/2 for 1c coconut milk and 2c heavy whipping cream. It took about 20-25min. of constant stirring to boil on low. I am a novice cook and it was pretty easy for me, but I am so glad I did not quit stirring before it boiled on low!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leticia Giles Pouliot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Anyone who had problems with this recipe needs to try again! Make sure you bring the mixture to a boil! This is a delicious pie and so very easy to make. I've been making this for 3 years at the restaurants I work, and have worked at. It's a HUGE hit!! The only things I changed were using half vanilla, half coconut extract and I add a little more coconut than called for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Galeton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 961) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States