Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Amazing!!!! My hubby loves the flavor of coconut but not the texture (weird I know) made this today with half coconut milk and the remaining half & half to make 3 cups and 2 teaspoons coconut extract and 1 of vanilla. Best one I have made ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelmcelroy76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dakota City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Made this for the first time with some changes. used 1/3C cornstarch instead of flour. used 1 1/2 C coconut milk and 1 1/2C half/half. did not toast coconut in custard but did toast for topping. cooked custard in microwave which took 11 minutes in my old microwave I made my own whipped topping. I will be making this again. I already have this pie on my Thanksgiving list
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
This was excellent and easy to make. I had NO problem with this setting up - but it does require a little patience during the cooking process. I made mini-pies with half of the recipe and with the other half I made parfaits by layering graham cracker crumbs in the bottom of the cup followed by the pie filling, then whipped topping, then toasted coconut. I cut little circles from my remaining pie dough and garnished the parfaits with them. I took several desserts to a function and these parfaits were the hit of the function. Rave reviews and people going back for seconds. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe, Carol H.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
This is by fare the best coconut cream pie ever! I did as the others suggested and 1 1/2 C Coconut milk and 1 1/2 C half and half always turns out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Excellent pie as is. I made it per the recipe. I agree that it's a custard pie, like some of the reviewers said, but a great custard nevertheless. I put the custard mix in a glass bowl in the microwave and did the 5 minutes stirring each 60 seconds; turned out perfect this way, and much quicker and less mess to clean up. I put the whole cup of coconut in the custard, but I think next time I make it I will add at least another 1/2 cup of sweetened coconut, and maybe coconut milk in place of some half and half for more flavor. I saved the 4 egg whites and made a meringue to go on top of the pie. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
This is delicious! I did not make any changes to it. I followed the directions exactly and I made sure the mixture on the stove top really thickened up. I have made this 3 times already. The first time I did what everyone said, to use cornstarch instead of flour. It was horrible and chalky and disgusting. I think it's perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Rave reviews at my Soda Shop Themed Party. I don't think anyone took a breath from when the pie was put in front of them until it was gone. Som subs... I didn't have half and half, so I used 2 cups whipped cream, 1 cup skim, and half a package of coconut cream powder - stuff I normally use to bump up the coconut flavor my curry. Comments were helpful to know I didn't have to cook it at LOW heat. After 10 mins I cooked it at medium low heat with a whisk to prevent lumps. Highly suggest using a whisk over a wooden spoon at medium low heat from the get go.... keep stirring or you'll get weird bumps in your filling. After measuring, sift your flour again to avoid bumps. Used smoked sea salt instead of salt and vanilla bean paste instead of extract so there'd be the pretty speckling of vanilla beans in the custard. For the topping I used another reviewer's suggestion... 1 cup fresh whipping cream milk and beat it with generous vanilla (2 table spoons), and 3 tablespoons of icing sugar. A big piping star to make pretty tufts on the top before topping with the last bit of toasted coconut. Wildly successful. Just sit back and soak up the praise now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xtasia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This is a very good recipe, but I would probably either add more coconut or coconut milk the next time. If you're not expecting a huge coconut flavor and more of a custard flavor, it's fine. I made mine with whole milk since I didn't have half-and-half, but it set just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking with Kel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I tried this recipe but instead of adding 3 cups of half & half I added 2 1/2 cups and then added 1 1/2 cups of creamed coconut that I made from scratch from my Omega Juicer. Yes, it the best if you love coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I followed the directions exactly, left it in the fridge overnight and it never set up. I was VERY unhappy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 941) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States