Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is the best coconut cream pie I've ever had. I followed some the suggestions of other reviewers. I used 2 cups coconut milk & 1 cup 2% milk (I didn't have cream or half & half), also 1/3 cup of cornstarch instead of flour and untoasted coconut for inside the pie. It thickened so well & set perfectly but I did cook on low heat & stirred for about 30 minutes. So worth that extra time. Delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Very good, skip the cool whip and use real whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I love reading recipes, and then the comments. It helps to spark your own creativity! So, I loved the recipe, but taking cues from the reviewers, I decided to mix together 1 cup of heavy cream w/ 13 oz of coconut milk. I used 1 cup of regular milk to mix the sugar, cornstarch and salt in the pot. I decided to use 5 egg yolks, and I slowly whisked the entire mixture of whole milk, cornstarch, salt and sugar into the eggs. Poured that back into the pot (keep whisking, people), I then added the coconut and heavy cream mixture. It was beautiful~!! 2 minutes later, I took it off the heat, still whisking, I added the vanilla, butter, and finally, the combo of toasted and untoasted coconut. Real whipped cream topping, sprinkled with toasted coconut. A total winner!! Everyone loved it, and complained that I didn't make two pies!!! I give it 4 1/2 stars for the ease in modifying it. Thanks for all who contributed to this recipe.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My brother, who is very particular about his Coconut Cream Pie, found this pie was very satisfactory. He liked the flavor. However, I did use marange not whipped cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
We loved this recipe. My children have milk allergies so I substituted 1 1/2 cups coconut crème(refrigerated the full fat coconut milk and skimmed off the cream that rose to the top)and 1 1/2 cups rice milk for the half and half. I also used turbinado sugar instead of white sugar. It firmed up nicely. This is going to be a holiday, special occasion staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This pie is a work of art, really beautiful. I made it exactly as instructed and although it was good, the coconut flavor was not strong enough for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Awesome pie, true taste & consistency, I made it with 2 cups of coconut milk & 1 cup of heavy whipping cream and it turned out Wonderful!! Make this pie, you won't regret it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Loved this recipe! My son wanted to try coconut cream pie so he found this recipe for me to make. Coworkers who are not coconut fans devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
oh ya! made it with the cornstarch and 1 can of coconut milk and rest up to 3 cups with half and half. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Leamington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I made the pie exactly as directed. The filling did not have enough coconut flavor. I should have put more coconut in the filling. It was also too gummy and thick, not light at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 938) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States