Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I made this recipe for my mom's side of the family on Eater and it was a success. Everyone loved it. I think I will make it again for Thanksgiving along with a banana cream pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Used the coconut milk + whipping cream, subbed in 1/3 c cornstarch as many suggested. I think the people who are complaining about it not setting are not heating it gently for long enough -- it should be basically thickened all the way BEFORE you take it off the stovetop... heating the flour/cornstarch activates it to thicken. FANTASTIC recipe -- can't wait to make it for friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I made this pie for the first time during the holidays; and will be making it again for Easter dinner. An easy pie to put together and loved by all the coconut crazies in my family. This pie is very sweet, but quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
It was Ok...it tasted somewhat like tapioca. I don't think I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I tried this recipe today for the first time - I can't seem to get it to set. I took the filling back out of the pie shell and tried to re-thicken it with more flour and it still doesn't seem to want to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was a lovely pie. It was moist and just the right consistency. It was all eaten in no more than three days after it was made. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
The best pie ever...I changed it up some. I used 1 1/2 cups of coconut milk and 1 1/2 cups of half and half instead of the 3 cups of half and half. I also put chopped walnuts in the pie shell when baking it. This gives the crust an extra crunch and who doesn't like toasted walnuts? I would recommend this pie to everyone. It is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I have to admit I always made this kind of pie out of a pudding. Thought I'd try the "old fashion way". NEVER again will my pie come out of a box. This recipe is amazing, although I did make the change that most recommended using 1 c. coconut milk and 2 c. half n half. The taste was excellent. It thickened quite nice using flour. Thanks again for submitting this recipe. (and my husband thanks you too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
My first coconut cream pie--so good! Thank you Carol, and all the other super chefs whose advice I always consider and respect. You certainly add to my joy of cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This recipe came out delicious!!! My grandmother is smiling down on me from heaven! I've never made a boiled custard pie such as this, and my first time I was a little scared because it boiled really quickly and set fast! I kept it in the fridge for up to 5 days and the crust and the pie consistency were still perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 961) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States