Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by cheesemite
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Made it for Pi Day 3.14.15. I followed the recipe as written, but stirred the custard until it thickened, took about 5 minutes. When I first put the custard into the shell, I thought it was bland, but after chilling, the coconut flavor infused the custard beautifully. Best coconut pie I've ever had, including my favorite local restaurateur's famous one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
Great recipe. I used two cups of half & half and a can of sweetened condensed milk and cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. And used 1/3 cup of corn starch in place of flour. Husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I made my own cookie crust and took the advice of others and did two cups of half and half and one cup of coconut milk. I topped it with homemade whipped cream. Let's just say that we were very sad when we ate the last of this pie! It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conneautville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Everyone absolutely loved it. This recipe is the only one I'll use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marylee
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I made this last night and I tried it with the recommendations and the filling was so hard so if I made this next time I would go by the original recipe and go from there and would still use the coconut milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina.Veysey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Very easy, very tasty! The only thing I did differently was only used 2 cups of cream and then 1 cup coconut milk. Gives a nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This pie is amazing and I've made many. I use 1 1/2 cups coconut milk/cream & 1 1/2 cups half and half. For the topping. I use a tub of cool whip and a package of coconut cream pudding mix. Mix both together & top with toasted coconut. Absolutely amazing. Tons of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This was easier to make than I'd ever thought it would be, and EXACTLY what I was craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Family loved this and they are fairly picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
LOVED this recipe! I made two - one exactly as written and another using a gluten-free graham crust, coconut milk and almond milk in place of the half-and-half, and a gluten-free mixture of flour in place of the flour. We loved them both! And it was a nice surprise for our gluten-free guests! I did add some coconut flavoring - we love the stronger coconut taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashandrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,004) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States