Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is my first time making coconut cream pie. I did a couple of things different from the recipe based on what I figured would suit our preferences. I used 2 cups coconut milk, and made 1 cup half and half substitute (none on hand) by combining 1 1/2 T. melted butter and enough milk to make a full cup. I also subbed 1/3 cup cornstarch for the flour. Everything else was the same. I cooked it in the microwave (can't remember exactly how long, but it was around 8 minutes), stirred every minute with a whisk, and let it cool for about 10 or 15 minutes after stirring in the coconut and vanilla, stirring every few minutes to help speed cooling before putting it in the crust. I also made homemade whipped topping, another first for me and I was pleased with how easy it was to make. The only thing wrong with the pie was that I didn't put quite enough sugar in the whipped topping...my mistake! Great pie, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This recipe was easy and delicious. I made homemade whipped cream for the top instead of the frozen. Everybody loved it. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I used 2 cups half & half and 1 cup milk...I also used graham cracker crust...DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I've made this recipe a few times now and the cream pie is wonderful. My husband and friends ask me to make it all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Greensboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Oh MY! What a pie! Making the following changes will make it a 5 star! Followed other reviews and used 1.5 cups of coconut milk with 1.5 cups of half and half. (Found it in both the bakery aisle and the ethnic aisles) Used 1/3 cup corn starch instead of flour and. I also cooked it in the micro for the 5 minutes as recommended (stirring every minute) and it turned out flawless! I purchased a large graham cracker pie crust. (My husbands favorite type of pie crust.) A smaller size will make your pie nice and high and I may try this next time. Use the true whipping cream...yum! HINT: DO let your custard cool before pouring in any pie shell so the pie shell will not become soggy. Also, wait until the custard is thoroughly cooled before putting the whipped cream on. This will help your topping to "stand up" longer and not get watery. Our 35 year old son does not like coconut cream pie. Well, not until he had this. He turned to his wife and said, "I want this for my birthday next year." Then he said, "Mom, you can make it this this year for Thanksgiving". OH MY! WHAT A PIE! DO CHANGE THE FLOUR FOR CORNSTARCH AND USE COCONUT MILK OR CREAM FOR HALF THE LIQUID.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Excellent! I used a deep dish crust so I multiplied everything by 1 1/2. Also used half coconut milk and half half-and-half. Cornstarch for the flour, and tempered the eggs before I added them to the custard. Added extra coconut to custard as well. Only toasted the coconut that went on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This pie is perfect! So easy to make especially if you use store bought pie crust (occasionally I do). I did use coconut extract instead of vanilla to really give it that coconut flavor. Tomorrow I am making it again but adding a layer of bananas. Yummmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This was so easy and tasty. I had to improvise with some ingredients I had on hand. I used a combination of heavy cream and coconut milk instead of half-n-half. I followed other users' suggestions and used cornstarch instead of flour. I made sure to mix the cornstarch in cold cream before adding to the heated mixture to avoid clumping. This fit perfectly in a deep dish pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
My husband orders Coconut Cream every time we go to the bakery and always talked about his grandmother and how she made the best coconut cream pie. I have used several recipes that just didn't compare. Then one day I stumbled upon this one. He LOVES it!! He says it is as good as hers and I was so proud! I have made it many times since and followed the recipe with a few exceptions. I added a little coconut extract ( flavoring but not the artificial kind ) and it was extra coconutty! I also use fine and flake coconut in it for more texture and use about 3/4 cup of each ( so about 1 and a half cups rather than the 1 it calls for ) Also I used real whipped cream rather than cool whip. It is so good!! My husband prefers it with a graham crust to a pie crust as well, but it really is just super either way!!! Lovely recipe! A new family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I did as the other reviewers recommended and used 1 can of cream of coconut (about 1 cup) and enough half and half to amount to 3 cups (about 2 cups) . Switched out the flour for cornstarch and followed the remaining directions as written. This was delicious! Picky 5 star restaurant boyfriend Loved it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 937) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States