Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Used coconut milk and heavy cream instead of half and half or plain milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I've made this pie twice in the last month. Followed the directions exactly as printed and it turned out fantastic! In fact, I just got a call to make it again. It set up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This is HANDS DOWN the best and EASIEST "from scratch" pie to make and everyone loves it! I make it as it states and it is super delish. Thanks, Carol H., for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
THis is my new favorite Coconut pie recipe. Creamy and delicious. I have makde it several times and it never fails.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This recipe is fantastic, however did make some changes....add 2 cups of coconut milk and the rest half n half, then i used 2 eggs, plus 1 egg yolk, plus i prefer to toast my coconut abit, and it turned out very delish.Make your own whip cream for the topping by adding abit of sugar and vanilla to it. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
My daughter and I made this pie and it was so good. It was so easy and so good. This is the one look no futher.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I LOVE this pie! The only changes I made was to substitute the 1/3 cup cornstarch for the flour (only because I always use cornstarch to thicken) and next time I will toast only the topping coconut, leave the mixed in coconut white just for the color factor but it is such a tasty delight the way it is that it will remain a favourite and I'll never get the boxed coconut pie filling again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Really great recipe...after I made some of the changes that other folks have written about below (hence the four stars). Instead of using all half and half, I used one cup of coconut milk. I also swapped cornstarch for the flour. I was really scared when I was making this because it started getting lumpy, regardless of the fact that I was mixing it the entire time! I also freaked out when it was multiple colors in my fridge after 5 hours...alas, when I woke up in the morning to check on it--it was fine! Everyone in my family loved this pie as well :) I also made my own whipped cream to top it instead of using the frozen kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I followed the recipe to a T (wanted to try it without others' recommendations first) and while the pie is good, it's not as "coconutty" as I would like. I will definitely make this recipe again, but adding the coconut milk like others suggested. My family thought it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My husband loves coconut cream pie. I made this one for him this Christmas. It turned out awesome. I think it was the best we've had in many, many years. I know it was the best I've ever made and thanks to all the info I gleaned from Allrecipes, my "high altitude meringue" was literally the icing on the pie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 965) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States