Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This was my first coconut cream pie and it was a huge hit at Thanksgiving. It is a great recipe and one I will be using a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Thanks for this recipe Carol! It is now my specialty for family occasions! Seriously, they cannot get enough! I always use 1/2 coconut milk & half creamo and it turns out beautifully. Be careful not to burn your coconut and keep stirring the filling constantly. Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Wow, this was so easy to make and it thickened right up! I read some of the reviews and took the advice of some of the girls. I used 1/3 cup cornstarch and I did not toast the coconut that went into the pudding. I only used the toasted coconut on the top of pie. Thanks for the great advice ladies! This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I have made this several times using Silk brand Pure Coconut milk (vanilla flavored) instead of the half and half (making the recipe dairy free for my son that is allergic to dairy) and it is FANTASTIC!! It is a favorite in our family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Sutherland, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by madbradb
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I first made this pie September 12, 2012 and this is a second, follow up review of sorts. As of today, December 22, 2012 - I have gained 12 pounds and completed my 50'th "Old Fashioned Coconut Creme Pie"! It's that good and I now make these two at a time! A little overboard, yes - but once you make this pie you will understand why. Read through the other reviews and try some of the substitutions others have made. Me, I use half heavy whipping cream / half whole milk in place of the half and half. (Yes, it's basically the same thing.) I also use an extra tsp of vanilla along with double the coconut(2 1/2 cups coconut actually) simply because I like them both. I also make my own whipped cream instead of using cool whip but cool whip works almost as well if you don't want to go through the trouble. This is a very flexible recipe, very easy to make and best of all it tastes AWESOME! Just be sure to continuously stir while cooking since it is a custard type filling and will easily burn on the bottom. The picture I have included with my review is of the 38'th and 39'th pies that I made that I used to tease my wife with while she was at work. This recipe makes an excellent pie and I almost guarantee it will become one of your favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madbradb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashland, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I made this smooth creamy custurd, and then put it in cream puffs. Drizzled with chocolate and powdered sugar. To the custard i made some slight changes. I had no half and half so i used 2 cups cream and 1 cup coconut milk. Next time i think ill try using 3 egg yoks instead of 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This pie is absolutely the best coconut pie i have ever tasted!!! Took others suggestions and used 1/2 half and half and half coconut milk, 3 egg yolks and 1/2 c cornstarch. Cooked in the microwave (mine took 6 mins) stirring after every minute. I think i ate a cup of filling before i made myself put it in the pie shell then realized i forgot vanilla, but it really didnt need it! Thank you for posting this recipe! I will be making for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Oh my, this is really good , it was the perfect coconut cream pie and amazingly easy to do I made a homemade butter crust with this filling best homemade pie yet . Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Amazing!!! Made this for my cousins and one said she wanted it as her birthday cake. Great texture and flavour. It doesn't hurt to just chill the filling in bowls and make pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I love this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 919) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States