Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Delicious! I have a new favorite pie! I made this according to other reviews, substituting a can of coconut milk and topping it up to 3 cups with heavy cream. I also used 1/3 cup of corn starch instead of the flour. My family raved an my husband had two slices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burkesville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was so good!! I had coconut left over from Holiday baking and was looking for something to make to use it up. I used 1/2 teas vanilla and 1/2 teas coconut flavoring. Also I didn't have half and half in the house so I used skim milk thinking that that would not work out, but OH MY GOODNESS, was it ever yummy! It was still firm enough to suit me. My husband and I swooned over it. I will be making this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is the best coconut cream pie I've ever had. I followed some the suggestions of other reviewers. I used 2 cups coconut milk & 1 cup 2% milk (I didn't have cream or half & half), also 1/3 cup of cornstarch instead of flour and untoasted coconut for inside the pie. It thickened so well & set perfectly but I did cook on low heat & stirred for about 30 minutes. So worth that extra time. Delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Very good, skip the cool whip and use real whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I love reading recipes, and then the comments. It helps to spark your own creativity! So, I loved the recipe, but taking cues from the reviewers, I decided to mix together 1 cup of heavy cream w/ 13 oz of coconut milk. I used 1 cup of regular milk to mix the sugar, cornstarch and salt in the pot. I decided to use 5 egg yolks, and I slowly whisked the entire mixture of whole milk, cornstarch, salt and sugar into the eggs. Poured that back into the pot (keep whisking, people), I then added the coconut and heavy cream mixture. It was beautiful~!! 2 minutes later, I took it off the heat, still whisking, I added the vanilla, butter, and finally, the combo of toasted and untoasted coconut. Real whipped cream topping, sprinkled with toasted coconut. A total winner!! Everyone loved it, and complained that I didn't make two pies!!! I give it 4 1/2 stars for the ease in modifying it. Thanks for all who contributed to this recipe.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
My brother, who is very particular about his Coconut Cream Pie, found this pie was very satisfactory. He liked the flavor. However, I did use marange not whipped cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
We loved this recipe. My children have milk allergies so I substituted 1 1/2 cups coconut crème(refrigerated the full fat coconut milk and skimmed off the cream that rose to the top)and 1 1/2 cups rice milk for the half and half. I also used turbinado sugar instead of white sugar. It firmed up nicely. This is going to be a holiday, special occasion staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This pie is a work of art, really beautiful. I made it exactly as instructed and although it was good, the coconut flavor was not strong enough for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Awesome pie, true taste & consistency, I made it with 2 cups of coconut milk & 1 cup of heavy whipping cream and it turned out Wonderful!! Make this pie, you won't regret it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Loved this recipe! My son wanted to try coconut cream pie so he found this recipe for me to make. Coworkers who are not coconut fans devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 981) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States