Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This is my mom's favorite type of pie so I made this recipe for Mothers Day. I only had 2 C. Of 1/2 & 1/2 so I substituted 1 C. Cream of Coconut. I got rave reviews. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frankie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Byron Center, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dunstable, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I tried this recipe but it didn't set. I should know better not to try any new recipe for Mother's day. It was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This recipe was easy and absolutely amazing! I did not read comments before I made the pie, so I made it exactly as the recipe prescribes...except I forgot the vanilla extract. Fortunately, it tasted delicious without it. I did cook the cream at a higher temperature, and for at least 20-25 minutes to make sure it was thick. Again, I have saved this one to the recipe box and will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Delicious pie, very time consuming, but very tasty. Next time I will turn the heat up a bit when making the custard so it won't take so long to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This recipe was wonderful! I took the advice of a few other reviewers and used 1/3 cup of cornstarch and left the flour out. I also used half coconut cream (not coconut milk!) and half heavy cream instead of the half and half. While it definitely wasn't low fat or low calorie, it was the most incredibly velvety pie I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This is truly a wonderful, old-fashioned pie. I changed it by substituting corn starch for flour, but everything else the same as written. Not over the top sweet, just right. Thank you for this classic recipe Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
First pie ever. Used advice of others and used 1 can coconut milk, and the rest half cream half milk. I also only toasted the coconut for the topping, and used 3 egg yolks instead of two eggs. Last change was to use 1/4 cup corn starch and 1/4 cup flour. Looks delicious, my taste tester will be home later to review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I made this pie for Easter dinner & it was amazing! I followed other's advice & used cornstarch in place of flour. I also used cream of coconut that I found in our local liquor dept. I used the whole carton of cream of coconut along with half and half to get three cups. I used three egg yolks in place of the eggs, & plenty of untoasted coconut in the filling. I cooked the filling in the microwave on high for about seven minutes, stirring after every minute. By minute seven the filling was very thick, which meant my pie would not be runny. I placed the filling in my homemade pie crust & refrigerated overnight. In the morning I topped it with whipped heavy cream (whipped with powdered sugar & vanilla) and toasted coconut. The pie was beautiful and tasted great. It has held up well and is almost gone on the second day. The only thing I would do differently is lessen the sugar because the pie was a bit too sweet. Thank you Carol for a wonderful recipe, and thanks to everyone else for your tweaks to the original recipe. I think this is the best pie I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Whether you use the original version or the suggestions given by others; this is the best recipe you can possibly find. I've made three different versions so far and each of them was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 941) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States