Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Jenn Graham
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
My first coconut cream our and it was a great hit with the gang! I didn't have enough cream so I substituted 2 % milk and added an extra egg yolk to thicken.. I used flour, did not add toasted coconut to the filling and cooked until thick. Came or beauty, bounding high in the crust.. Will make again but with added coconut milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Big Al
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I have impressed the pants off my family! I used a Mrs. Smith's pie crust. Easy to make, spectacular results. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big Al

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Gandeeville, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Winnabow, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MSippigrl
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Ohhh, this pie is to die for!! Tastes just like the ones I remember my late mama and mawmaw making. I did make a few modifications that didn't sacrifice the overall result - using 3 egg yolks instead of the 2 whole eggs, fat-free half-and-half, doubled the vanilla, added 2 T. butter, and used an 8-oz tub Cool Whip on top. To speed up the cooling process of the filling, I placed the pot in a sink of ice and water, whisking occasionally, until it was cool and thick, about 10 minutes. I only toasted the coconut for the top of the pie. Dessert, you betcha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSippigrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
I made this the other day and it did not set at all! I still gave it a 2 because the pie still tasted good. I'm going to use cornstarch instead of flower next time like some of the other reviews said and see if it works. If it does then I do think this recipe will be a keeper after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I'm quite a fan of coconut cream pie and this recipe is definitely a tried and true good pie recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
AWESOME!!!! just AWESOME!! best coconut cream pie I have ever eaten I woundn't change a thing I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This was the first coconut cream pie I ever made and it turned out fantastic. It was a hit at the dinner party I brought it to. I made changes, some that were recommended by others: made my own graham crust using graham crumbs, melted butter and also added about 1/4 cup toasted coconut into the crust. I added 1 1/2 cups half and half and 1 1/2 cups coconut milk. I added an extra egg yolk to ensure firmness (based on what others wrote). I topped it all with fresh whipping cream I whipped, adding in a tsp of coconut flavouring and some icing sugar to sweeten it a bit. Topped it all off with the toasted coconut. Also, I cooked it in the micro as per others had suggested....much easier this way!!! All in all....a real winner.....have already made it again with great success.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Love it! Coconut pie is one of my faves and this did not disappoint
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Amazing!!!! My hubby loves the flavor of coconut but not the texture (weird I know) made this today with half coconut milk and the remaining half & half to make 3 cups and 2 teaspoons coconut extract and 1 of vanilla. Best one I have made ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelmcelroy76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dakota City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Made this for the first time with some changes. used 1/3C cornstarch instead of flour. used 1 1/2 C coconut milk and 1 1/2C half/half. did not toast coconut in custard but did toast for topping. cooked custard in microwave which took 11 minutes in my old microwave I made my own whipped topping. I will be making this again. I already have this pie on my Thanksgiving list
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 939) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States