Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
As several others have noted, the filling did not set. I cooked the custard on low until it got as thick as it could without scrambling the eggs. It just didn't seem to thicken as custard usually does. I still give it an extra star because it tasted terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I followed the suggestion of others and used half coconut milk and half sweet cream(we dont't have half and half in central america) and the pie turned our perfect. plenty of flavor and thickens up very well. The reviewers who complained about it not thickening probably didnt cook the custard long enough. If you want a creamy pie this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tobin heath
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I substitute 2cups of coconut milk and 1 cup of half and half and turns out an instant classic! Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tobin heath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This is Absolutely the Best coconut cream pie recipe! I've made it 4 times and it was delicious every time. My family loves it...the only thing I do different is add extra coconut ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeDee Chestnut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly and the pie never set. We ate it in bowls with spoons, so not to waste it. Very tasty. Next time, I will try the canned coconut milk, which I remember is nearly a solid at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Glen, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bay Village, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This coconut cream pie is absolutely perfect as stated! This is my Husband's favorite and he often requests it...even in the dead of winter! As with all custard based pies, I would chill overnight before topping with the cool whip/ whipped cream and serving. I have had excellent results at the 4 hour indicated time, but it always sets up firm if I chill it overnight. Whenever I serve this pie I am given rave reviews and seconds are always requested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheHomemade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Photo by Stephen LaForest
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Great recipe. I would give it 5 stars but the modifications recommended like other users suggest is required to make it perfect. Flour to starch Add extra yolk Use coconut milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen LaForest

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Well I tried this recipe with changes to coconut milk and we were disappointed at how grainy it was. We will make it the original way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carolyn76
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I've made this recipe several times and it turns out great every time! I do always use homemade whipped cream and have tried it with coconut extract, but the recipe doesnt need any major changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartte2010
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Delicious. All I changed was used 1.5 cups 16% coconut milk and 1.5 cups of 35% cooking cream. It is delicious. Will make it again! Especially for my brother in law. It's his favourite. And for some reason whenever I call bakeries (up to 15 different ones) none of them have coconut cream pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,010) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States