Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I have gone back to this recipe again & again! I used the changes of coconut milk & 1/2 and 1/2, I use the cornstarch, and I make my own whipped cream with coconut extract. I hated the regular crust so I used a graham cracker one instead on the next pie and that was perfect! I used to cook at an assisted living facility and the residents loved this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was WONDERFUL. First time ive ever made a coconut cream pie and my hubby informs me i need to make again :) All our dinner guests loved it! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pshorty
Home Town: South Shore, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I think overall the idea is great. I did use a few alterations that the other reviewers suggested. I only used sweetened, toasted Coconut for the top (which was real whipped cream made from Heavy Cream, Vanilla Extract and Confectioners Sugar), natural unsweetened Coconut for the inside, 3 egg yolks instead of the 2 eggs, 1/3c cornstarch instead of flour, 1 can cream of Coconut (about 1 1/2 cups), and 1 1/2 cups half & half. I also used the microwave suggestion, which was 8 minutes in the microwave, whisking after each minute. The Coconut flavor and consistency were great. For me though, it was WAY too sweet. I think next time I will try it with only 1/2cup of sugar instead of 3/4cup. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
The first time I have ever made a "pudding" from scratch and it was FANTASTIC!! I followed a couple of other reviews. I toasted 1 Cup of coconut, but used untoasted INSIDE the pie. I also added 1 tsp of coconut extract and used 1/3 C of corn starch instead of the flour. I made homemade whipping cream to top it with, then sprinkled the toasted coconut on top. My best friend actually stabbed her husband with a fork when he tried to get another bite...LOL It was the first pie gone after Thansgiving dinner!! After that, everyone SETTLED for pumpkin or chocolate :D I'm making another one today, just to satisfy everyone before they go back to work and school! ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was the hit of the desserts, came out perfect. I did as the viewer suggested and used half coconut milk and also used cornstarch, I did use the full cup of coconut in pie sprinkles some of bottom of cooked crust and then toasted more for the top. With my Mothers pie crust recipe this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very good! I used the flour as suggested and but subbed the 1/2 and 1/2 for 1c coconut milk and 2c heavy whipping cream. It took about 20-25min. of constant stirring to boil on low. I am a novice cook and it was pretty easy for me, but I am so glad I did not quit stirring before it boiled on low!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leticia Giles Pouliot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Anyone who had problems with this recipe needs to try again! Make sure you bring the mixture to a boil! This is a delicious pie and so very easy to make. I've been making this for 3 years at the restaurants I work, and have worked at. It's a HUGE hit!! The only things I changed were using half vanilla, half coconut extract and I add a little more coconut than called for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Galeton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Fresh squeezed lime juice, coconut milk and young coconut take this recipe to another level! And you can also make a great finger desert with this by putting into mini phyllo shells (found in freezer section) just before serving. Just reheat if they get soggy. I have made this recipe several times and can't stress enough to use a can of coconut milk (or if you're really lucky enough to find coconut creme) along with the half & half. I get mine at an Asian grocery as it's significantly cheaper there than chain stores. After the mix is cooked and has cooled a little, I squeeze one lime into it for extra zing. I also find fresh young coconut better than packaged shredded. Young coconut is a slimy, fleshy substance that is not dry like mature coconut and I think that dry texture is why a lot of people say they don't like coconut. It's extra work to have to crack open the shell (pays to research on internet) but you get the extra benefit of healthful chilled coconut water w lime to drink later. They're sold at chain grocers too. Recently I did see canned young coconut at the Asian grocer so I may just use that next time. I only used frozen shredded once with this recipe and didn't like the texture of the custard at all compared to the smooth young meat. I'm thinking you really don't need coconut at all, if you have fussy eaters, as the coconut milk will give it enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Great recipe with the substitution of coconut milk for 1/2 of the cream. Use cornstarch instead of flour, as so many others suggested. To those who say it turned out like soup, you overcooked the filling. Cook only until it breaks bubbles for about 1 minute. To the lady who asked what 1/2 and 1/2 is, it is a common coffee cream and is anywhere from 12-18% fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn Graham
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
My first coconut cream our and it was a great hit with the gang! I didn't have enough cream so I substituted 2 % milk and added an extra egg yolk to thicken.. I used flour, did not add toasted coconut to the filling and cooked until thick. Came or beauty, bounding high in the crust.. Will make again but with added coconut milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montague, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 938) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States