Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Yaya_77
Reviewed: May 28, 2015
This was a big hit in my home. Next time though, I want to use a can of coconut milk in place of some of the half and half like other reviewers suggested. Delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Made the pie as written other than using more coconut and adding a little honey to the custard and it is WONDERFUL. Would not change another thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I've tried many Coconut Cream pie recipes. This is by far the best pie I have ever made or tasted. I've been making this pie for eight years and will never use another recipe. Is there anything better than a big piece of coconut cream pie? I think not! Enjoy! Note: Nothing will do but Heavy Whipping Cream for this baby. In fact, one day I want to try fresh coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
Used the suggestions for coconut milk and half & half...turned out amazing! I make this pie every now and again. It turns out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Inuvik, Northwest Territories, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Easy to make, tastes amazing and looks beautiful! For a chocolate version, I added 4 Tbs of cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I made the changes suggested by previous reviewers (1.5 c coconut milk, 1.5 c blend, corn starch instead of flour). I used flaked coconut from a bag as I couldn't find frozen, untoasted in the custard and toasted on top. I used real whipped cream, 1cup with 2 tbsp sugar and 1tsp coconut flavouring instead of vanilla. I also cooked the custard in the microwave, I did 1 minute intervals stirring after each min, took 7 minutes. I had enough filling for 12 tarts and 1 8" pie shell. Super yummy and surprisingly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I whipped 2 cups of cream stabilized with gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leisah Bluespruce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I made my first Coconut pie, ever...it was delicious. I made the recipe by Carol H., but added the following to it based on previous comments. One, I added 2tbsp of cornstarch to the filling with a tsp. of coconut extract. I toasted about a 1/4 cup of slice almonds and added it to the coconut topping. I sprinkled it on top of the whip cream mixture,ohlala. I never like coconut pie, simply, because they never tasted like coconut. We ate half and I froze the rest. This is an A+ recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Absolutely delicious. I made it exactly as 'H' described in ther rreview below and used 1 1/2 cups coconut milk and 1 1/2 cups of half & half. I used flour and not corn starch. It took 25 minutes, but it got thick and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheesemite
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Made it for Pi Day 3.14.15. I followed the recipe as written, but stirred the custard until it thickened, took about 5 minutes. When I first put the custard into the shell, I thought it was bland, but after chilling, the coconut flavor infused the custard beautifully. Best coconut pie I've ever had, including my favorite local restaurateur's famous one. Second time around: best in show in Tieton Highland Community Days Pie Palooza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,013) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States