Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Pretty easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by javadiva
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This pie was excellent! Served it with my Easter meal, I did use 1 can of coconut milk & half & half to measure 3 cups, also used real whip cream. Everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javadiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Thank you Carol H. for this great recipe! I made no changes to this recipe except for the cool whip topping. I made a meringue topping instead. The pie turned out wonderfully! My Mom, Dad and Mother in Law are huge coconut cream pie buffs and they absolutely loved this. I will def. be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This pie is amazing!!! It is light and creamy. Full of flavor. I did also use the 1/4 cornstarch instead of the flour and also 1/2 and 1/2 on the vanilla and coconut extract. I also used the can of coconut milk and finished it witht he half and half for the 3 cups of milk. Diffenantly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
The recipe was decent, but not my favorite pie. I followed other people's advice and used corn starch instead of flour and also used coconut milk. I let it cook for about 25 mins, until it got really thick. Then it seemed kind of starchy in terms of the flavor. I might try again and use less corn starch and add back in some flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Whenever I make this pie, people comment that it is the best coconut cream pie they've ever had. The only change I made (which I do for everything that calls for vanilla) was to add extra vanilla. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
There isn't much I can add than what has already been said. I read through many different recipes and this seemed the best. I would recommend anyone sort the reviews by the "most helpful" and use SHEA's 3rd time is a charm additions and substitutions. That specific altered recipe came out FABULOUS. The only thing I did different was use an Italian meringue for the top. It worked well since i was using the 3 egg yolks in the pie and had 3 whites left over. 1/2 tsp cream of tartar and then boil a simple sugar of 1/2 cup sugar and 1/4 cup water with a dash of the imitation coconut flavor. Topping was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
GREAT I use to pay a friend to make pies for me and now I can make my own! I used 1.5 cups of coconut milk and then 1.5 of 1/2 & 1/2. I also split the vanilla to 1/2 tea and used 1/2 tea of coconut extract. Only other modification was 1/4 cup flour and 1/4 cup of corn starch. This encompassed all the other reviewers changes and it was great. I did the microwave method and it was perfect and fast! I'll be making this all the time now. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
One word: WOW!!! I mean it. The best coconut cream pie ever. After reading ALL the reviews, the only small change I made, instead of 3 cups of half-and-half, I put 1 cup of coconut milk and 2 cups of half... as suggested by SHEA. To die for. Thx for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This pie was amazing! I am definetly new at this and I did it simply and easily. Being a beginner i was alittle worried about the creme not being right but just keep stirring and it will thicken up. I too did the changes mentioned and ot turned out awesome. Just put all the ingredients in a bowl and stir and the magically will take care of itself haha jk ;) a truly great recipe. And you will know this as soon as people start begging for the recipe. Thanks for putting this recipe out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 939) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States