Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Photo by katiemcb09
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Loved it! I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out delicious. Extra points for how easy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemcb09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This was a great recipe !!!! This was the very first time I ever made a coconut creme pie. Guess what, first time I ever ate some too.... YUMMMM!!!! I followed advice of others and made some substitutions. Still giving 5 stars though .I skipped half and half and used cocunut milk 1/2 cup and coconut water 1/2 cup. I also used more coconut (1-1/2 cups). I also used cornstarch. It doesn't get lumpy with this. I used 2 whole eggs plus 1 yolk. I also used 2 teaspoons of vanilla. I tried the recipe cooking on top of the stove and no matter how much I strred it still stuck to the pan and I was afraid the taste would go through the pie (it was still good) I SERIUSLY recommend using the microwave skip stove completely. I put all ingredients in the bowl and mic'd for 2 minutes a pop then stirred after ever 2 minutes. Because I was paranoid I cooked for 10 minutes. 8 is probably fine just keep strring. When done go right to the pie shells because if you cooked it right it will begin to set in the bowl and you don't want that. Iwill definitely make again. I had a bake sale at church and after one sample they wanted a whole pie ! AWESOME !!! One sure thing to do is make your own whipped cream. It Is The Best!!! I am so impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary-Ella

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
So far so good. I tried this once before, but it never set and came out soupy. 2nd time was the charm. i switched out the flour for corn starch but only a 1/3 c. I cooked it on the stove stirring until it started to get thick like pudding. I didn't cook it that long before. Seemed to do the trick. I haven't tried it just yet though, it looks wonderful and it set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
The taste was delicious I just don't know what I did wrong, I wish someone could give me some feedback. I put in 2 cups of half & half and 1 cup of evaporated milk and I put in 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour & 1/4 cup of all-purpose flour, the rest was done as per the recipe. But for some reason the pie never set. I ate it soupy just like melted ice cream with some shortbread cookies! idk but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica__utley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
In addition to following changes by most, I always strain the custard cream. The changes that helped the most--split the flour into half portion corn starch, half portion flour. Split vanilla into half portion vanilla, half portion coconut extract. And, I split the half anf half to half coconut milk, half-half and half. (I have also substituted whole milk for half and half.) I also only toast half of the coconut, and put the other half untoasted. All of the modifications are wonderful! Thank you everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Pretty easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by javadiva
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This pie was excellent! Served it with my Easter meal, I did use 1 can of coconut milk & half & half to measure 3 cups, also used real whip cream. Everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by javadiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Thank you Carol H. for this great recipe! I made no changes to this recipe except for the cool whip topping. I made a meringue topping instead. The pie turned out wonderfully! My Mom, Dad and Mother in Law are huge coconut cream pie buffs and they absolutely loved this. I will def. be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This pie is amazing!!! It is light and creamy. Full of flavor. I did also use the 1/4 cornstarch instead of the flour and also 1/2 and 1/2 on the vanilla and coconut extract. I also used the can of coconut milk and finished it witht he half and half for the 3 cups of milk. Diffenantly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
The recipe was decent, but not my favorite pie. I followed other people's advice and used corn starch instead of flour and also used coconut milk. I let it cook for about 25 mins, until it got really thick. Then it seemed kind of starchy in terms of the flavor. I might try again and use less corn starch and add back in some flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 944) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States