Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Whether you use the original version or the suggestions given by others; this is the best recipe you can possibly find. I've made three different versions so far and each of them was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by fcbowden
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Followed a few reviews and mixed and matched till I came up with an amazing pie! I substituted a can of full fat coconut milk and heavy cream for the half and half, along with 1/3 cup cornstarch instead of flour, and three egg yolks instead of two eggs. I guess by the time you make the adjustments it's not really the same pie, but I wanted to make sure it had enough coconut flavor and I love creamy it turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
My husband thought this was the best coconut cream pie he'd ever eaten. I used 2 c. half & half an 1 c. Coconut milk with 1/2 tsp. vanilla an 1/2 tsp. coconut extract. It was wonderful. RT Baker, WA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I used one can of coconut milk and then the rest in half and half. It made such a big difference. By far this now the best Coconut Cream pie ever with the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha Doty Whitmoyer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Mine turned out too thick... I plan to make again and use maybe 1/3 c thickening. I used half coconut milk and half cream, and a vanilla bean cooked with the mixture then split and scraped the seeds and stirred them into the custard. Also, I will add coconut extract as I think that will really enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made it for a baby shower and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Used coconut milk and heavy cream instead of half and half or plain milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I've made this pie twice in the last month. Followed the directions exactly as printed and it turned out fantastic! In fact, I just got a call to make it again. It set up perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This is HANDS DOWN the best and EASIEST "from scratch" pie to make and everyone loves it! I make it as it states and it is super delish. Thanks, Carol H., for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,013) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States