Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Oh my, this is really good , it was the perfect coconut cream pie and amazingly easy to do I made a homemade butter crust with this filling best homemade pie yet . Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Amazing!!! Made this for my cousins and one said she wanted it as her birthday cake. Great texture and flavour. It doesn't hurt to just chill the filling in bowls and make pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I love this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I have tried for 25 years to find a coconut cream pie recipe my husband likes as well as the ones he had as a child. He says this is the best pie he ever tasted-- Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliciaottaway
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is my first time making coconut cream pie. I did a couple of things different from the recipe based on what I figured would suit our preferences. I used 2 cups coconut milk, and made 1 cup half and half substitute (none on hand) by combining 1 1/2 T. melted butter and enough milk to make a full cup. I also subbed 1/3 cup cornstarch for the flour. Everything else was the same. I cooked it in the microwave (can't remember exactly how long, but it was around 8 minutes), stirred every minute with a whisk, and let it cool for about 10 or 15 minutes after stirring in the coconut and vanilla, stirring every few minutes to help speed cooling before putting it in the crust. I also made homemade whipped topping, another first for me and I was pleased with how easy it was to make. The only thing wrong with the pie was that I didn't put quite enough sugar in the whipped topping...my mistake! Great pie, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This recipe was easy and delicious. I made homemade whipped cream for the top instead of the frozen. Everybody loved it. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I used 2 cups half & half and 1 cup milk...I also used graham cracker crust...DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I've made this recipe a few times now and the cream pie is wonderful. My husband and friends ask me to make it all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Greensboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Oh MY! What a pie! Making the following changes will make it a 5 star! Followed other reviews and used 1.5 cups of coconut milk with 1.5 cups of half and half. (Found it in both the bakery aisle and the ethnic aisles) Used 1/3 cup corn starch instead of flour and. I also cooked it in the micro for the 5 minutes as recommended (stirring every minute) and it turned out flawless! I purchased a large graham cracker pie crust. (My husbands favorite type of pie crust.) A smaller size will make your pie nice and high and I may try this next time. Use the true whipping cream...yum! HINT: DO let your custard cool before pouring in any pie shell so the pie shell will not become soggy. Also, wait until the custard is thoroughly cooled before putting the whipped cream on. This will help your topping to "stand up" longer and not get watery. Our 35 year old son does not like coconut cream pie. Well, not until he had this. He turned to his wife and said, "I want this for my birthday next year." Then he said, "Mom, you can make it this this year for Thanksgiving". OH MY! WHAT A PIE! DO CHANGE THE FLOUR FOR CORNSTARCH AND USE COCONUT MILK OR CREAM FOR HALF THE LIQUID.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 962) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States