Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This pie is perfect! So easy to make especially if you use store bought pie crust (occasionally I do). I did use coconut extract instead of vanilla to really give it that coconut flavor. Tomorrow I am making it again but adding a layer of bananas. Yummmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This was so easy and tasty. I had to improvise with some ingredients I had on hand. I used a combination of heavy cream and coconut milk instead of half-n-half. I followed other users' suggestions and used cornstarch instead of flour. I made sure to mix the cornstarch in cold cream before adding to the heated mixture to avoid clumping. This fit perfectly in a deep dish pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
My husband orders Coconut Cream every time we go to the bakery and always talked about his grandmother and how she made the best coconut cream pie. I have used several recipes that just didn't compare. Then one day I stumbled upon this one. He LOVES it!! He says it is as good as hers and I was so proud! I have made it many times since and followed the recipe with a few exceptions. I added a little coconut extract ( flavoring but not the artificial kind ) and it was extra coconutty! I also use fine and flake coconut in it for more texture and use about 3/4 cup of each ( so about 1 and a half cups rather than the 1 it calls for ) Also I used real whipped cream rather than cool whip. It is so good!! My husband prefers it with a graham crust to a pie crust as well, but it really is just super either way!!! Lovely recipe! A new family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I did as the other reviewers recommended and used 1 can of cream of coconut (about 1 cup) and enough half and half to amount to 3 cups (about 2 cups) . Switched out the flour for cornstarch and followed the remaining directions as written. This was delicious! Picky 5 star restaurant boyfriend Loved it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I have made this amazing pie several times now. I changed nothing and followed the recipe as is. It is PERFECT and my family and friends love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
First time coconut pie for me and it was so easy and tasted great!! I followed the pie directions but did not use a pastry crust. I used graham cracker crumbs, some butter, 2 tbls. sugar, and about 1/4 cup shredded coconut. Pressed it all together in my pie plate and it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Otsego, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Ummmm, yeah. THE BEST coconut pie ever. I have made this pie several times per other reviewers. I also used 1 can of coconut milk, and then enough half & half to make 3 C. I used half of a large bag coconut, toasted. Also, used cornstarch instead of flour. Made this for a friends b-day b/c it was his favorite pie, everyone raved! I have requests to make for all of there bdays now as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katiemcb09
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Loved it! I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out delicious. Extra points for how easy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiemcb09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This was a great recipe !!!! This was the very first time I ever made a coconut creme pie. Guess what, first time I ever ate some too.... YUMMMM!!!! I followed advice of others and made some substitutions. Still giving 5 stars though .I skipped half and half and used cocunut milk 1/2 cup and coconut water 1/2 cup. I also used more coconut (1-1/2 cups). I also used cornstarch. It doesn't get lumpy with this. I used 2 whole eggs plus 1 yolk. I also used 2 teaspoons of vanilla. I tried the recipe cooking on top of the stove and no matter how much I strred it still stuck to the pan and I was afraid the taste would go through the pie (it was still good) I SERIUSLY recommend using the microwave skip stove completely. I put all ingredients in the bowl and mic'd for 2 minutes a pop then stirred after ever 2 minutes. Because I was paranoid I cooked for 10 minutes. 8 is probably fine just keep strring. When done go right to the pie shells because if you cooked it right it will begin to set in the bowl and you don't want that. Iwill definitely make again. I had a bake sale at church and after one sample they wanted a whole pie ! AWESOME !!! One sure thing to do is make your own whipped cream. It Is The Best!!! I am so impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary-Ella

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
So far so good. I tried this once before, but it never set and came out soupy. 2nd time was the charm. i switched out the flour for corn starch but only a 1/3 c. I cooked it on the stove stirring until it started to get thick like pudding. I didn't cook it that long before. Seemed to do the trick. I haven't tried it just yet though, it looks wonderful and it set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 941) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States