Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Excellent pie as is. I made it per the recipe. I agree that it's a custard pie, like some of the reviewers said, but a great custard nevertheless. I put the custard mix in a glass bowl in the microwave and did the 5 minutes stirring each 60 seconds; turned out perfect this way, and much quicker and less mess to clean up. I put the whole cup of coconut in the custard, but I think next time I make it I will add at least another 1/2 cup of sweetened coconut, and maybe coconut milk in place of some half and half for more flavor. I saved the 4 egg whites and made a meringue to go on top of the pie. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
This is delicious! I did not make any changes to it. I followed the directions exactly and I made sure the mixture on the stove top really thickened up. I have made this 3 times already. The first time I did what everyone said, to use cornstarch instead of flour. It was horrible and chalky and disgusting. I think it's perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Rave reviews at my Soda Shop Themed Party. I don't think anyone took a breath from when the pie was put in front of them until it was gone. Som subs... I didn't have half and half, so I used 2 cups whipped cream, 1 cup skim, and half a package of coconut cream powder - stuff I normally use to bump up the coconut flavor my curry. Comments were helpful to know I didn't have to cook it at LOW heat. After 10 mins I cooked it at medium low heat with a whisk to prevent lumps. Highly suggest using a whisk over a wooden spoon at medium low heat from the get go.... keep stirring or you'll get weird bumps in your filling. After measuring, sift your flour again to avoid bumps. Used smoked sea salt instead of salt and vanilla bean paste instead of extract so there'd be the pretty speckling of vanilla beans in the custard. For the topping I used another reviewer's suggestion... 1 cup fresh whipping cream milk and beat it with generous vanilla (2 table spoons), and 3 tablespoons of icing sugar. A big piping star to make pretty tufts on the top before topping with the last bit of toasted coconut. Wildly successful. Just sit back and soak up the praise now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xtasia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This is a very good recipe, but I would probably either add more coconut or coconut milk the next time. If you're not expecting a huge coconut flavor and more of a custard flavor, it's fine. I made mine with whole milk since I didn't have half-and-half, but it set just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking with Kel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I tried this recipe but instead of adding 3 cups of half & half I added 2 1/2 cups and then added 1 1/2 cups of creamed coconut that I made from scratch from my Omega Juicer. Yes, it the best if you love coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I followed the directions exactly, left it in the fridge overnight and it never set up. I was VERY unhappy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This is my mom's favorite type of pie so I made this recipe for Mothers Day. I only had 2 C. Of 1/2 & 1/2 so I substituted 1 C. Cream of Coconut. I got rave reviews. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frankie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Byron Center, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dunstable, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I tried this recipe but it didn't set. I should know better not to try any new recipe for Mother's day. It was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This recipe was easy and absolutely amazing! I did not read comments before I made the pie, so I made it exactly as the recipe prescribes...except I forgot the vanilla extract. Fortunately, it tasted delicious without it. I did cook the cream at a higher temperature, and for at least 20-25 minutes to make sure it was thick. Again, I have saved this one to the recipe box and will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 998) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States