Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I made this and it was gone in a flash! My one suggestion is make two of these pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Morrison Ordoukhanian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Photo by surfszup
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I followed the directions as instructed except for the whipped topping. I also did the whipping cream variant. I agree the instructions are a bit vague when it says bring to a boil. It kept my stove top on for probably 20 minutes stirring constantly until it was thickening up and the occasional bubble popped to the surface. You stir for 20 minutes or so, you understand what firming up is! It is a custard style pie so you have to keep stirring so it doesn't burn to the bottom or "curdle" from the eggs cooking in the mix before the custard thickens properly. This recipe did deliver exactly as the ingredients require. For one more jab to those complainers out there, I found it funny many people complained about the whipped topping but would still use a pre-made graham cracker crust instead of making your own:) Anyway, the pie is delicious and I give only 4 stars since old fashion should go all the way, crust and topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
First time I made a Coconut Cream Pie and it got wonderful raves from my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
My fiance is a HUGE fan of coconut cream pie and this is his favorite recipe. Instead of 3 cups half and half I use a can of coconut milk and add half and half to make it three cups. I don't toast the coconut flakes I put into the pie either. Next time I'm going to try using frozen coconut in the pie instead of the sweetened flakes. Don't tell him where I got my "secret" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
this was very easy to make and was very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwild

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This was my first coconut cream pie and it was a huge hit at Thanksgiving. It is a great recipe and one I will be using a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Thanks for this recipe Carol! It is now my specialty for family occasions! Seriously, they cannot get enough! I always use 1/2 coconut milk & half creamo and it turns out beautifully. Be careful not to burn your coconut and keep stirring the filling constantly. Yum, yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Wow, this was so easy to make and it thickened right up! I read some of the reviews and took the advice of some of the girls. I used 1/3 cup cornstarch and I did not toast the coconut that went into the pudding. I only used the toasted coconut on the top of pie. Thanks for the great advice ladies! This recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I have made this several times using Silk brand Pure Coconut milk (vanilla flavored) instead of the half and half (making the recipe dairy free for my son that is allergic to dairy) and it is FANTASTIC!! It is a favorite in our family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra Carper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Sutherland, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by madbradb
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
I first made this pie September 12, 2012 and this is a second, follow up review of sorts. As of today, December 22, 2012 - I have gained 12 pounds and completed my 50'th "Old Fashioned Coconut Creme Pie"! It's that good and I now make these two at a time! A little overboard, yes - but once you make this pie you will understand why. Read through the other reviews and try some of the substitutions others have made. Me, I use half heavy whipping cream / half whole milk in place of the half and half. (Yes, it's basically the same thing.) I also use an extra tsp of vanilla along with double the coconut(2 1/2 cups coconut actually) simply because I like them both. I also make my own whipped cream instead of using cool whip but cool whip works almost as well if you don't want to go through the trouble. This is a very flexible recipe, very easy to make and best of all it tastes AWESOME! Just be sure to continuously stir while cooking since it is a custard type filling and will easily burn on the bottom. The picture I have included with my review is of the 38'th and 39'th pies that I made that I used to tease my wife with while she was at work. This recipe makes an excellent pie and I almost guarantee it will become one of your favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madbradb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashland, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 944) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States