Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This was outstanding!!!!! I did do the half coconut milk, 1/2 whipping cream recipe. Also, because the mixture (to me) tasted a little constarch-y while it was hot off the oven, I poured a little coconut extract in the mix which really MADE ALL THE DIFFERENCE! I love how with this recipe you can literally change things around and this will still taste delicious! I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it! It was silky, smooth and oh so creammmy! I left the coconut inside the cream untoasted and the coconut on top toasted. This was so good! I will definitely make this again. I made my own whipped cream, bu be careful not to make it too sweet. I used a bout 1 1/2 small carton of whipping cream, about 3 heaping tablespoons (real spoon, not an actual tablespoon) of powdered sugar and poured a little vanilla extract. Afterwards, I thouht hmm, maybe I should have used coconut extract. Either way it would be fine! and also, I had some whipped cream left over that I took to Thanksgiving and people ate it with a spoon it was so good! It tasted like real whipped cream, so I'm glad I used vanilla extract. Try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Very creamy texture and delicious but I will omit the flour next time because it didn't thicken up as much as I wanted it to. I had to stick the pie in the freezer to thicken overnight. Next time I will use cornstarch and coconut cream. All in all, it is very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I was thrilled to find an easy and delicious scratch coconut pie! 5 stars with these changes: I used the microwave method that others recommended and it's true it works like a charm, so go ahead and try it. I used 1/4 C of flour and 1/4 C cornstarch, but I would recommend only using cornstarch bc it dissolves and mixes in more easily without any lumps imo. Other tips: I used 1/2 coconut milk 1/2 whole milk, coconut extract, 2 eggs and 1 yolk. My coconut took longer to brown-13 mins, but take the time to toast it, bc it really brings out the coconut flavor and it's a pretty presentation. If you make the whipped topping recommended by others here, it makes way too much for one pie. I would half it:( 1/2 carton of heavy whipping cream, I preferred 3 T of the confectioners sugar instead of 2, 1 tsp vanilla). I piped mine on and it looked amazing. I also used a 9 inch deep dish pie crust and it was filled with only a little left over, which we used for sampling. ;) I made this pie the day bf Thanksgiving so it had a long time to set up, so I can't vouch for the time it takes to set. I made the whipped topping the day I was serving it. Loved this pie!!! Thanks OP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOOK4FUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Best ------ Pie ------ Ever!!!!!!! I've tried this one quite a few times and now I double the recipe and use cream of coconut, adding enough half and half or milk (or combination of the two) to fill in the rest of the amount of liquid needed. I also use frozen coconut for the filling instead of the toasted sweetened coconut, and this is the tastiest thing ever. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brule, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This tastes just like my grandma's. It's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This is the very best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lei58
Home Town: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Love this recipe! I've made it numerous time and it always comes out wonderful. I make it exactly as the recipes states, but I healify it a bit by using fat free half and half and fat free whipped topping. Another request was made to have it again for Thanksgiving this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I made this and it was gone in a flash! My one suggestion is make two of these pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Morrison Ordoukhanian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Photo by surfszup
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I followed the directions as instructed except for the whipped topping. I also did the whipping cream variant. I agree the instructions are a bit vague when it says bring to a boil. It kept my stove top on for probably 20 minutes stirring constantly until it was thickening up and the occasional bubble popped to the surface. You stir for 20 minutes or so, you understand what firming up is! It is a custard style pie so you have to keep stirring so it doesn't burn to the bottom or "curdle" from the eggs cooking in the mix before the custard thickens properly. This recipe did deliver exactly as the ingredients require. For one more jab to those complainers out there, I found it funny many people complained about the whipped topping but would still use a pre-made graham cracker crust instead of making your own:) Anyway, the pie is delicious and I give only 4 stars since old fashion should go all the way, crust and topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
First time I made a Coconut Cream Pie and it got wonderful raves from my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 941) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States