Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This was a huge hit at our Thanksgiving this year. The only thing i did different is to use a premade graham cracker crust..It was so tasty, delish and kids and adults loved it; I was even asked for the recipe by more then one family member.. I am making it again for a holiday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I typically can't boil water, but this was so easy to make, and I received many compliments about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Okay, so this was my first attempt at making coconut cream pie. I followed some other reviews by using cornstarch, half & half and cream of coconut. I also used fresh coconut in the pie itself and sweetened coconut on the top as well as substituted sugar for splenda blend. I will say this was probably the best coconut cream pie I have ever tasted. I took my first pie to work for the guys I work with and it was a HUGE success! My mother normally makes the coconut pie for the holidays but this year, I was given the task. All of the family loved it! I have one warning though...even with using the splenda blend, the cream of coconut is extremely high in sugars. Being that both of my parents are diabetic, this was a big deal! With the cornstarch, I had no issues w/my pie setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trayker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I just made this pie and everyone loved it. The pie was gone that evening. Like others I used cream of coconut, but I used whipping cream with the cream of coconut to make up the 3 cups. I didn't measure the flour I just put in a heaping half of cup. It turn out really rich, creamy and thick. I will use this recipe from now on...Pamicake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly except I used 1 1/3 cups of coconut and used a 9" premade grahm cracker crust. It was excellent and set up beautifully, rich and thick. Great pie!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I disagree with the negative reviews wholeheartedly. I made this for our first married Thanksgiving this year because my father-in-law and husband absolutely love coconut cream pie and I had yet to find one that's up to scratch because I'm very picky about my pie :) Being our first time hosting Thanksgiving, I was nervous but this pie was PERFECT. This is it! It is by far one of the easiest cream pie recipes I've tried, and set up beautifully. My husband loved it so much I'm making him another right now! I did add a little more coconut, because I love coconut, and I used a graham cracker crust and topped with fresh homemade whipped cream. The pie was gone in a second! Make it! Make it now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I took the top reviewer's suggestion and made the filling with half coconut milk, half half-n-half. I also used pure vanilla extract and doubled the amount. We LOVED this pie. I think it could use more flaked coconut but really, that's being nitpicky. Sososososo very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Really liked this pie...even though I forgot the vanilla! Very good and only thing I changed was added extra coconut to the filling. I will be making this again soon. Thank you for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Photo by candicerubio82
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was a good pie. I liked that it was easy to make. The only thing that I really have to comment on is that when the pie was done and ready to be eatin. I cut into it and it had some liquid in it that I know shouldn't have been there. I added a bit more coconut to the mixture and put more coconut toasts on top. Everyone liked it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candicerubio82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I have made this pie twice in the last two days, the changes I made were using 1 cup coconut milk and 2 cups half and half, and I used coconut extract and vanilla extract, I also used the microwave instead of the double boiler...both times it came our really good....everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 941) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States