Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This coconut cream pie is absolutely perfect as stated! This is my Husband's favorite and he often requests it...even in the dead of winter! As with all custard based pies, I would chill overnight before topping with the cool whip/ whipped cream and serving. I have had excellent results at the 4 hour indicated time, but it always sets up firm if I chill it overnight. Whenever I serve this pie I am given rave reviews and seconds are always requested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheHomemade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Photo by Stephen LaForest
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Great recipe. I would give it 5 stars but the modifications recommended like other users suggest is required to make it perfect. Flour to starch Add extra yolk Use coconut milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephen LaForest

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Well I tried this recipe with changes to coconut milk and we were disappointed at how grainy it was. We will make it the original way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carolyn76
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I've made this recipe several times and it turns out great every time! I do always use homemade whipped cream and have tried it with coconut extract, but the recipe doesnt need any major changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartte2010
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Delicious. All I changed was used 1.5 cups 16% coconut milk and 1.5 cups of 35% cooking cream. It is delicious. Will make it again! Especially for my brother in law. It's his favourite. And for some reason whenever I call bakeries (up to 15 different ones) none of them have coconut cream pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
My dad and I love coconut cream pie so I tried this one out - I give this recipe 5 stars with the following changes: took the advice of others on some of the changes, and did a little modifying of my own :) Ingredients used: 1/3 c of coconut for the topping (toasted), and 1 & 3/4 c coconut for the filling (untoasted), 1 & 1/2 c heavy cream, 1 & 1/2 c coconut milk (used heavy cream & coconut milk instead of half & half), 2 eggs beaten, 3/4 c white sugar, 1/3 c cornstarch (instead of flour), 1/4 tsp salt, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1 - 9in, pie shell, baked. For the whipped topping, used 1 pint of heavy whipping cream, 3 tbsp powdered sugar, and 1 tsp vanilla - mix with mixer until peaks form (about 5 minutes). Sprinkle with the 1/3 c toasted coconut. Definitely worth making the homemade whipped topping! Use this recipe all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Made this pie as my first pie attempt ever!! Loved it, super easy recipe to follow!! Love love love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
There are a few flaws.... 1. No coconut milk = minimal coconut flavor 2. "whipped topping" = chemical and nutritional nightmare. This stuff has no place in the kitchen and it's odd flavor affects this pie. It would seem that shortcuts like this result in a lesser quality pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was awesome! I did make it with 1 1/2 c. coconut milk and 1 1/2 c. heavy whipping cream. Cooked it in the microwave for between 5-6 min, whisking after each minute until it thickened. I did not toast the coconut in the pie, just what went on top. Also make my own whipped topping with 1 c. heavy whipping cream, 1 tsp coconut extract & 3 T. powdered sugar. Don't make the topping until shortly before serving. Mine whipped up nice, but turned too creamy overnight, so it was messy. Still good, just messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DocsPunkin
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Made this for the 4th of July. I took other suggestion and I subbed 1.5 cup of the half and half for canned coconut milk. I also subbed the flour with 1/3 cup corn starch. I used fresh coconut from the organic self serve bin. It was DELISH! My whole family loved it. It was amazingly easy and quick to make! I will definitely find a reason to make this pie again, very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 944) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States