Old Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
We loved this recipe. My children have milk allergies so I substituted 1 1/2 cups coconut crème(refrigerated the full fat coconut milk and skimmed off the cream that rose to the top)and 1 1/2 cups rice milk for the half and half. I also used turbinado sugar instead of white sugar. It firmed up nicely. This is going to be a holiday, special occasion staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This pie is a work of art, really beautiful. I made it exactly as instructed and although it was good, the coconut flavor was not strong enough for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Awesome pie, true taste & consistency, I made it with 2 cups of coconut milk & 1 cup of heavy whipping cream and it turned out Wonderful!! Make this pie, you won't regret it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Loved this recipe! My son wanted to try coconut cream pie so he found this recipe for me to make. Coworkers who are not coconut fans devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
oh ya! made it with the cornstarch and 1 can of coconut milk and rest up to 3 cups with half and half. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avas meme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Leamington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I made the pie exactly as directed. The filling did not have enough coconut flavor. I should have put more coconut in the filling. It was also too gummy and thick, not light at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Shaw Ardman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Rockport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I have gone back to this recipe again & again! I used the changes of coconut milk & 1/2 and 1/2, I use the cornstarch, and I make my own whipped cream with coconut extract. I hated the regular crust so I used a graham cracker one instead on the next pie and that was perfect! I used to cook at an assisted living facility and the residents loved this pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Made this for Thanksgiving and it was WONDERFUL. First time ive ever made a coconut cream pie and my hubby informs me i need to make again :) All our dinner guests loved it! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pshorty
Home Town: South Shore, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I think overall the idea is great. I did use a few alterations that the other reviewers suggested. I only used sweetened, toasted Coconut for the top (which was real whipped cream made from Heavy Cream, Vanilla Extract and Confectioners Sugar), natural unsweetened Coconut for the inside, 3 egg yolks instead of the 2 eggs, 1/3c cornstarch instead of flour, 1 can cream of Coconut (about 1 1/2 cups), and 1 1/2 cups half & half. I also used the microwave suggestion, which was 8 minutes in the microwave, whisking after each minute. The Coconut flavor and consistency were great. For me though, it was WAY too sweet. I think next time I will try it with only 1/2cup of sugar instead of 3/4cup. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
The first time I have ever made a "pudding" from scratch and it was FANTASTIC!! I followed a couple of other reviews. I toasted 1 Cup of coconut, but used untoasted INSIDE the pie. I also added 1 tsp of coconut extract and used 1/3 C of corn starch instead of the flour. I made homemade whipping cream to top it with, then sprinkled the toasted coconut on top. My best friend actually stabbed her husband with a fork when he tried to get another bite...LOL It was the first pie gone after Thansgiving dinner!! After that, everyone SETTLED for pumpkin or chocolate :D I'm making another one today, just to satisfy everyone before they go back to work and school! ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 985) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States