Old Fashioned Christmas Raisin Delights Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
Please tell the owner to give us the correct amount of vanilla. She forget to include vanilla on the ingredient list. I added 1 tsp.- it was very good after the vanilla was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I've looked for years for a raisin-filled cookie recipe like my aunt's (she'd never give hers up) and this is the closest I've found. Great taste and texture. Make a double batch - my first batch was gone before they cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Great cookie! I only used 1/2 cup cugar in the filling and it was PLENTY sweet enough. Everything else stayed the same. I did drizzle a VERY small amount of a powdered sugar glaze in order to sprinkle red and green sugar crystals for decoration for Christmas. I also processed my rasins in my food processer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
What a great filled cookie! Here are some suggestions for making it easier. 1. A regular size canning jar ring is a perfect size for the circles. 2. The dough is very soft to handle. Try doing only a small amount at a time, enough for 6-8 circles. Keep the rest of the dough in the fridge until you are ready for it. Use lots of flour, stopping every couple rolls of the rolling pin to move the dough around and add flour if necessary to keep it from stick to the work surface. 3. Raisins are very sweet in and of themselves. I cut the sugar in the filling back to 1/4 cup. Next time I'll eliminate it altogether. I also eliminated the nuts. 4. I chopped the raisins in my food processor, along with some of the water for the filling. It worked like a charm. I'll probably make 1 1/2 batches of filling next time for 1 batch of dough. 5. For a slightly fancier look, use your fingertips to crimp edges as you would a pie crust. To go simple, just press edges together. 6. If you want the filling to show through, cut a small x in the top circle of dough before you place it on top. 7. And...a piece of advice, from my experience...this is a recipe to keep until the kids are in bed. Don't try it with a 3 year old wanting to help, and a sick, fussy 8 month old to hold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Oh THANK YOU!!! I had these when I was a kid and I have been searching for the recipe since my mom lost it, and these taste just like the ones I remember!! I'm so excited to have it again!! Also, for a "fancier" looking cookie I cut a smaller hole (about a quarter size) in the top cookie for a peek at the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made these for my grandparents as a Christmas gift and they loved them as snacks. However I found that I may have made a mistake with my dough because I needed way more than a lightly floured board, however they did taste delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
All you young bakers, don't turn your nose up at this old fashioned cookie! You must give it a try. This is one of those cookies that reminds me of home and of church lady bake sales. It's time consuming to make, but a must for Christmas and Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
In all honesty, I did not use the cookie portion of this recipe as I have a similar raisin-filled cookie recipe where the dough doesn't have to be chilled 3 hrs before being able to use it. I did use the filling recipe, however, and boy is it ever a sweet, eyes-rolled-back-into-your-head filling. Very good indeed! I put my raisins into my blender to grind them, but they quickly became gummy so I added the water, which worked like a charm. You do have to watch it carefully as it will quickly become very soupy. Pulsing with a food processor, if you have one, would probably be an easier choice. A wonderful cookie for those with a sweettooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
My mom has made these at Christmas for years. We have always has called them haystacks. Because they do look like a haystack after baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sgadacz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Foley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Delicious but my dough was VERY soft. The rolling out was extremely time consuming. I ended up hand rolling balls, squishing a hole in center, filling w/raisin mixture & sealing. But tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States