Old Fashioned Christmas Raisin Delights Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Excellent! I followed directions EXACTLY...and the 22 "cookies", 2 3/4 wide, in my 350 degree oven (thermometer confirmed) baked 11 mins and got just barely brown on the edges. Think about doubling the dough or halving the filling. I have enough filling left for at least 18 more...and yes, I did use the full heaping teaspoon that was recommended. The dough rolled out great for me. I believe the trick is to remove from the refrigerator only the amount you will immediately be working and handle it as little as possible. I chilled mine for 8 hours. There was no sticking problem because I kept a full cover of flour every time I turned the dough. Remember that unless you weigh your flour, and sift it (as recommended), you will get a different dough consistency every time. Enjoy and Happy Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I have tried this recipe and this is the one I have been looking for years. MY mother made them when I was still at home, I love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
These are awesome!!! Taste just like Grandma used to make! I've been looking for a recipe and let me tell you....I found it! The dough is a little sticky, had to use a lot of flour but they are delicious. My 13 year-old grandson wasn't sure he wanted to try them but he ate more than anyone! What a nice way to bring back memories of happy times. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Dillow-Chipps

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
We loved these, though we did make a few changes. We omitted half a cup of sugar and the walnuts (allergies) in the filling. As Lynnje said, they were plenty sweet. We also used a shot glass to cut circles out of the top layers. We then brushed the cookies with an egg wash to give them a shiny brown crust. They were very pretty, as well as delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Loved this recipe! I left the dough in the fridge for a good part of the day didn't have any trouble rolling it! Gonna try it with apples and maybe dates also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I used mincemeat in mine as my gram always did they were great Ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
This cookie is THE BOMB!!! My mother used to make these years ago iv been trying to find another recipe like hers! my search is over!! I followed the recipe to a T! Perfection! I did have some left over apple pie filling I wanted to use up so I filled a few with that Soooo Good!!! I will use this recipe again and also fill them with apple and different jams!! Thank you sooooo much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
All you young bakers, don't turn your nose up at this old fashioned cookie! You must give it a try. This is one of those cookies that reminds me of home and of church lady bake sales. It's time consuming to make, but a must for Christmas and Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keld

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
What a great filled cookie! Here are some suggestions for making it easier. 1. A regular size canning jar ring is a perfect size for the circles. 2. The dough is very soft to handle. Try doing only a small amount at a time, enough for 6-8 circles. Keep the rest of the dough in the fridge until you are ready for it. Use lots of flour, stopping every couple rolls of the rolling pin to move the dough around and add flour if necessary to keep it from stick to the work surface. 3. Raisins are very sweet in and of themselves. I cut the sugar in the filling back to 1/4 cup. Next time I'll eliminate it altogether. I also eliminated the nuts. 4. I chopped the raisins in my food processor, along with some of the water for the filling. It worked like a charm. I'll probably make 1 1/2 batches of filling next time for 1 batch of dough. 5. For a slightly fancier look, use your fingertips to crimp edges as you would a pie crust. To go simple, just press edges together. 6. If you want the filling to show through, cut a small x in the top circle of dough before you place it on top. 7. And...a piece of advice, from my experience...this is a recipe to keep until the kids are in bed. Don't try it with a 3 year old wanting to help, and a sick, fussy 8 month old to hold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
My mom has made these at Christmas for years. We have always has called them haystacks. Because they do look like a haystack after baking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gadacz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Foley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States