Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Never make it on a humid day. The flavor was great, but it was sticky and too soft. I'm going to try making it again when the humidity level is lower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This turned out like syrup,and I followed the recipe to a T. Not your fault,obviously,from all the great reviews. I will try it once more and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Heizman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunshineGirlG
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This turned out really really yummy. This was my first time making fudge and I have an electric stove so I was worried. When it got to the soft boil stage it looked like this photo and I took a picture because if it turned out I wanted to remember that this is how it's supposed to look. I thought I'd share for other worriers. If it looks like this, you're doing it right ;-). Try it, it wasn't that hard (except for the beating until it loses its shine party, my arm aches) and it's so good. My husband says it's better than his grandpa's and that's the highest praise possible! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I followed this recipe to a T and it came out like sticky caramel and would not set. Not sure what happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Burnt gelatinous mess! It made no sense to me to reduce to simmer during the boil but I went ahead and followed the directions and all it did was lose too much heat and then at the simmer it was on the heat too long and burnt in the pan. I'll stick to Hershey's recipe. At least they don't tell you to do things in wrong order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Valtin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
So, funny story about this recipe. I have this exact recipe passed down to me from my Grandma, but I never met my Grandma so I always made it the way my mom made it. That meant when we tested the fudge in water the fudge needed to make a hard ball (not a soft ball) and it was never beaten. It was always more like a......chocolate hard candy almost. I managed to tweak it so that it was more grainy and soft, but not really FUDGE. So THIS time after reading this recipe it came out like fudge! I'm so excited! I wish my Grandma was around for me to have asked her how SHE made it :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Russell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I love this recipe. I mix mine with a stand-up mixer, so I stop mixing after 2 minutes 30 seconds. If the consistency is too runny, I continue mixing in 30 second intervals. I don't mix until the mixture looses its gloss because the fudge will turn out too dry. It's my fault for using a stand-up, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
can you replace 1\2 1\2 for the milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Let me tell you this recipe tested my resolve to make fudge. First batch would not set not for love or money. Tasted great and should of just made some kick icing with it or brownies but no ...I read you can recook it down and start over. Dont do it ..I repeat do not do it. Consider that a lesson learned, salvage what you can. Second round after giving myself a day to lick my wounds I tried again. Working with a double the recipe for my larger pan, what worked for me is this ... I checked my candy thermometer for accurancy by boiling water, as boiled water should reach 212. Next I made the ice water to test soft ball method and an ice bath to cool my pot.Used a medium high heat, a bigger and heavier non stick pot and after the intial boil, did not stir. Made sure it was a low rolling boil and cooked for about 20 minutes to desired temp, tested the soft ball method to confirm my thermometer and placed pot in ice bath to cool. Took no time at all and added the butter and vanilla and stirred maby 10 minutes till it lost its sheen. Done thank you god ! Boyfriend cringed when I said I was trying fudge one more time, but Im no quitter and yes I finally got the fudge !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I cooked this using my candy thermometer to 238 degrees. I let it cool to about 160 degrees before adding the butter and vanilla. After adding the butter it lost it's sheen in about 1 minute and got really crumbly. I have pressed it into the pan and I'm hoping once it cools I can possibly cut it. I was really hoping this would come out good because I am making goodie trays for work. This one will not be going into the trays. I will stick to another no fail recipe I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States