Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This is a great recipe but I think that people that aren't familiar with sugar cooking need to know that it is very difficult to make a recipe like this on an electric stove and they need to understand more about sugar crystalization. One sugar crystal in the pot after it is cooked will ruin the candy. I always make sure that I take a wet paper towel and wipe down the sides of the pot after the mixture comes to a boil to remove any undissolved sugar; I never put a spoon into the mixture after it comes to a boil (it might have sugar crystals on it) and I never stir or move the fudge after it is cooked (do not stir the butter and vanilla into it) until it is cooled to at least 115 degrees. Then, and only then, beat like mad until it loses it's gloss and then pour it quickly into your pan. It shouldn't take a long time to reach the desired temperature if the size of the pot is large enough and if it's heavy enough it will not burn. It takes about 10-15 minutes from beginning to end of cooking for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
ATTENTION: fudge making is an art, and it takes time and LOTS of practice. I hope the tips below help you a lot! This is hands down the best fudge on Earth! The chocolate chip recipes are truly awful compared to this! Some Hints: IMPORTANT - chemistry says add 1 tsp of corn syrup (or something with corn syrup in it like marshmallow) to help prevent crystallization of the sugar. I've also found buttering the sides of sauce pan will help the fudge not form crystals and come out creamy. Heat this recipe slowly on medium heat, as it will burn if you heat it too fast. I heat my fudge to exactly 236 and quickly put it into the sink of cool water until it gets to 110 degrees (or about to where you can hold the pan in your lap without burring your legs through jeans). My mom and grandmother always say "Don't scrape the sides much at all," and i think that also has to do with crystallization. After 110 degrees, beat the fudge until it looses its gloss and you notice "something different" in terms of thickening. I'm sorry I can't tell you more, but you'll get it once you do it. Fudge sets within about 90 seconds, so this part takes practice! if it doesn't set you can just throw it back into the pot and try the same thing again as is (reheating to 236 and adding ¼ cups more milk). This recipe doesn't make much, but I don't recommend trying to make two batches at a time unless you've made this several times. Make your second batch seperately, you can use the practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
885 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorklyn, Delaware, USA
Living In: Smyrna, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Best fudge ever…hands down. Every time I make this, people say it's better than in the specialty fudge shops. I use Ghirardelli cocoa and I add a couple dashes of salt to cut the sweetness a bit. I never use a candy thermometer. Depending on the quality, they can be unreliable. I keep a shallow dish of ice water near the pan and test it periodically. I think a lot of people have failed results, because they aren't sure what exactly "soft ball" stage is. When you dribble the chocolate mixture in the water, it should not cloud, and will immediately form a semi-solid mass. Think of it as the consistency of a tootsie roll you've been keeping in your pocket all day. When you squeeze it, it should be soft, but you don't want it to run. Once it's reached this stage, beat the hell out of it with a wooden spoon and Voila! Gourmet fudge. It's worth the sore elbow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
560 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I have the original Hershey tin can the recipe is on and it is a little different from this one. 2/3 Cup Hershey's Cocoa 3 Cups sugar 1/8 teas. Salt 1 1/2 Cups milk 1/4 Cup Butter (1/2 stick) 1 teaspoon Vanilla And follow her recipe when cooking it. I have made this fudge for many years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
326 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I've made it twice-loved it both times! I used to watch my grandmother make fudge when I was little. I've ruined a few batches on my own. There is nothing wrong with this recipe. You just have to be careful. Fudge can be frustrating to make. Thanks for all of your helpful tips. 1st batch came out just as I remember it. Firm, but not rock hard, and not sugary either. I was concerned, because it was snowing at the time I made it. 2nd batch: Snowing again. And this time I wanted it to be JUST a hair softer than before, so I took it off of the heat sooner. Too soon. It took forever to set. Both times I took it off of the heat and immediately added the butter, mixed it in, and then added the vanilla. The first time it didn't take too long to beat the sheen off of it. The second time it wasn't done, but I'm SO glad I didn't give up and throw it out! I got out my hand mixer and just mixed and mixed it...I'm guessing I mixed it for at least 20 minutes until it lost it's sheen! I kept going because I could tell that as it cooled it was thickening. The second time was much softer, and not as good as the first at all. But still worth the effort. I make mine on an electric flat top stove with a thermometer and the cold water test-no stirring after it comes to a boil. I just wanted to list both of my experiences in case somebody was tempted to throw out your fudge if it didn't seem to be setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Excellent recipe. At the end, I was left with a lot of very hard, crusty remains in the pot. I was going to soak it and hope for the best but then I came up with a better idea. To clean the pot, add some milk and reheat it, while swirling it around and scraping the sides. It will all come off and you will end up with the best mug of chocolate you’ve ever had. And an utterly clean pot. I recently had a $5 mug of hot chocolate a local luxury chocolatier, and it was indistinguishable from the one I made last night with all the leftovers in the pot. Why soak it with soapy water when you can make yourself a free mug of utterly decadent hot chocolate?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
This is the same as the old world french fudge recipe that's been in my family for generations. It does take precise timing, strong arms for the beating stage, and even a little practice. But even the failures are delicious, testing the gooey soft-balls is fun in itself, and scraping out the pan is one of my favorite childhood memories. This is a different world of fudge than the marshmallow creme/chocolate chip concoctions so popular now, and has a much more RICH, deep cocoa flavor. Growing up with this fudge, I've never understood the appeal of the 'quick & easy' recipes, as fudge for us was a tradition. I wouldn't recommend doubling the recipe in the same pan, as it's hard to beat as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
This recipe was on the Herschey's cocoa can for many years and I made it back in the 50's when I was a young girl. The marshmallow, chocolate chip recipe came out in the early 60's. I like it too, but to me it's not true chocolate fudge.As others have stated, you must leave it to cool to 110 degrees before adding butter and vanilla and then beating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This was DIVINE! Nothing like the marshmallow/chips recipes. I'm not sure if I got the texture right, but mine was slightly soft (comparing this to the marshallow/chips fudge), but melted in my mouth. I calibrated my thermometer (way off! like 10-15 degrees), set it on low/med-low the entire time and it took approx. 20-25 or so min. to reach the softball/slightly firm ball stage (I was afraid it would be gooey). I let it cool for about 1-2 minutes, then stirred in vanilla/butter (cut into cubes). Beat it mercilessly until it lost its sheen (3-5 minutes...), then threw in walnuts and beat it a little more. Turned out excellent.. hope this helps some first-time real fudge makers like me! Thanks!! ***Forgot to add that it's a good idea to double the recipe or use a smaller dish, if you'd like your fudge to turn out like the picture.***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I've been making almost exactly this recipe for 25 years using 3 cups of sugar instead of two and 1/2 cup of butter divided. It always turns out perfectly. I always add 1/4 cup of butter to the pot in the beginning and a TBSP of corn syrup once it reaches a boil. Sifting the cocoa with the sugar blends it well and helps avoid cocoa balls. I've never bothered to let it cool after reaching the desired temp, just remove it from the heat and plop in the butter and vanilla and start stirring. For reference, I never use the softball method, too arbitrary. Get a good candy thermometer, and if you are new to this, cook it to 240 F.. You'll have to stir it for quite a while after removing it from the heat. If you want to shorten the stirring time a little, cook it to 245 F. but wait to do this until after you've made it a few times. No higher temperature than this though, otherwise you'll be making a rock. When to stop stirring? A lot of recipes will tell you to pour when the shine comes off but I find that's a little late. For the record, the stirring is absolutely necessary. The stirring forms long crystals of sugar. The longer and more plentiful they are, the finer the grain of your fudge. Lastly, this recipe claims to make 60 pieces...um, nope, more like 18 to 24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States