Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This fudge is easy to make and very delicious. Brings you back to a child in the kitchen with Granny. Stir, stir stir!! It hardens fast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Not bad! I found the ratio of sugar to cocoa to be a tad too sweet, so I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. Doubling almost everything (1 cup cocoa, 2 cups milk, 3 cups sugar, but 5 tbsp. butter) makes a nice thick batch in an 8x8 pan. Warning: This modification is only for those who take their chocolate seriously! Like some others, it took me a few tries to get this right. My fudge kept overcooking, so I did the soft ball test in conjunction with a candy thermometer, and found that mine is usually done at around 232 degrees (I'm 750 feet above sea level). I also learned that it's important to use a good quality pot - otherwise, it heats unevenly and parts get burned to the bottom. Overall, this is a delicious recipe - much better than the stuff at the grocery store! Super cheap, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
So yummy. I made this three days ago and it has not crystallized yet, I wiped down the sides with wet paper towel and I did not stir after it came to boil and until it had cooled down to 140°F. It has strong chocolate flavor but that is a part of how delicious it is. I'm making a new batch tomorrow because this one disappeared too quickly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I'm an idiot, so don't do what I did, and don't let my mistake stop you from trying this fantastic recipe. It really is delicious! I made it with fresh goat milk, which is excellent in fudge. My mistake, after doing everything else so carefully, was to pour the hot fudge into my stand mixer bowl for beating, turn it on and forget about it until I had overbeaten fudge shards flying around my kitchen. (You can use a stand mixer for this, but you have to pay attention and stop the mixer right when the fudge loses its shine. Don't go do something else like I did!) In spite of my mistake, the flavor was great, and I'm saving the shards to use as a topping for cakes, ice cream, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I finally go this recipe right. IT IS AMAZING!!!! It does take a lot of work, patience, and listening to what others have advised, if you are a first time fudge maker. I am a first time fudge maker. I doubled the recipe to make a 9x13 inch pan of it. I totally thought I messed this recipe up because it would not set and solidify. So I followed another reviewers advice, I stuck it back in a pot nuts added and all and boiled it again. I then pulled it off the stove when my candy thermometer reaches 240 degree (F). I waited until it cooled again to 110 degrees (F). I put it in my kitchen aid blender with the flat blending attachment and set it at 4 speed. It took about 30 minutes until it got very thick like it would almost set in the mixer bowl. Then I poured it in the pan. Another 10 minutes to let it set for sure and I had excellent fudge. Everyone absolutely love it. This has been a rewarding experience. GREAT FUDGE sure to be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This fudge is AWESOME. I think I messed up a little because mine came out pretty dry, but it melted in my mouth and tasted delicious. I will definitely make this again, it is so much better than the marshmallow and chocolate chip fudge that I tried before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
My mom and grandma used to make this fudge. They always added about 1/2 cup peanut butter along with the butter and vanilla. Absolutely decadent.One of my favorite childhood memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
My friend and I tried this recipe and we did everything wrong that could be done wrong, and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Brilliant recipe, havn't yet mastered it without Mums supervision! lol I'm following all the advice btu things always seem to go wrong probably due to my temperemantal stove :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joanne
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Since failing with a different recipe, I was on a mission to make fudge.I buttered my glass pan and went to work at 5am. It's now 755am and my perfect fudge is cooling. I used 3 cups of sugar, 1 cup milk, 2/3 cup cocoa. 6 Tb salted butter, 1 1/2 Tb vanilla and a 1/2 cup of peanut butter. Cooked for 20 mins on medium. A little sweet but good. Next time I will wake up & have coffee first & use the amount of sugar called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gold Canyon, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States