Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Great fudge! It's the first time I make this type of fudge. Be patient in letting it simmer, it takes a while, you will see it decrease in volume some. I stuck to it (since i did not have a cooking thermometer) and I kept dropping drops of fudge in the cup of cold water. I had to change the water several times, since it got all cloudy at first. Finally, after a while, I saw balls of chocolate in the water and I knew it was done. I also added toasted walnuts to mine, after adding the butter and AFTER mixing it thoroughly till it lost its sheen (about 5 min. of vigorous stirring). It set perfectly in the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I tried this and it hasn't quite set yet, so I have my fingers crossed. I added raisins and a 2 tbsp. of maple syrup, topped it off with unsweetened coconut flakes and a scintilla of powered sugar. The mixture tastes great, and if it doesn't set properly, I'll try again! Very happy that I found this recipe and practicing now before the holidays! Thank you for this recipe and thanks to everyone for all your helpful tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Thank you so much for this recipe. I haven't made it yet but I know it is good. This is the fudge my mom always made but I never had the recipe. I can remember it so clearly because after she put in the vanilla and butter, it was my job to beat it. I had to hold the bottom of the pan under a slow stream of cold water to help it cool down and heaven help me if I got water in it. For all of you who have ever made fudge. If it doesn't set, call it spoon fudge and serve it with spoons. I have made many batches of peanut butter spoon fudge until I found 2 recipes on this site. My spoon fudge days are over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzymae30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Let me start with this: I have never made candy before, I own an electric stove, I don't own a wooden spoon or a candy thermometer,so this adventure was doomed from the start! I had shoulder surgery about 6 weeks ago so I knew I would not be able to beat the mixture. Here is what I did. I used the heaviest pot I have and used cold water with a few ice cubes in it to make it super cold. I cooked the mixture until I thought I got a soft ball. Took it off the heat and added the butter and vanilla. Then I let it sit until it was somewhat cooler. Since I could not beat the dickens out of it by hand, I used my electric mixer on low until I was sure the sheen was gone. The results: the mixture set before I could get it in the pan. I scooped it out and pressed it in the pan. The mistake I think I made was beating it too long and/or cooking it too long. The fudge tastes absolutely delicious! I will make this again and alter how long I beat the mixture. Oh and I made delicious hot cocoa with the remains from the cooking pan as suggested by another reviewer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is the fudge recipe I grew up with in the 50's...love it! What memories I have of my sister and I making this fudge, and how wonderful it was! If it didn't set up or harden, not a problem, we just ate it like it was! Truly fond memories of those experiences! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This fudge turned out amazingly! As always, I had a heart attack waiting for it to come to temp, took about 25 mins, but my candy thermometer is an old friend, and trusting it got the fudge perfect. Once it hit soft-ball stage, I dropped the butter in pieces, and let it sit until melted, the stirred it for about 10 mins, it was still a bit glossy, but was firming up well. Put it in a pan lined with parchment paper (so it can be lifted right out of the pan, and cut easily), turned out great. Kudo's to the reviewer who suggested making hot chocolate with the mixture that stuck to the pan, that was also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
It taste pretty good, but It was a bit grainy and didn't ever quite harden as much as a typical fudge will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
This fudge is easy to make and very delicious. Brings you back to a child in the kitchen with Granny. Stir, stir stir!! It hardens fast!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Not bad! I found the ratio of sugar to cocoa to be a tad too sweet, so I cut the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. Doubling almost everything (1 cup cocoa, 2 cups milk, 3 cups sugar, but 5 tbsp. butter) makes a nice thick batch in an 8x8 pan. Warning: This modification is only for those who take their chocolate seriously! Like some others, it took me a few tries to get this right. My fudge kept overcooking, so I did the soft ball test in conjunction with a candy thermometer, and found that mine is usually done at around 232 degrees (I'm 750 feet above sea level). I also learned that it's important to use a good quality pot - otherwise, it heats unevenly and parts get burned to the bottom. Overall, this is a delicious recipe - much better than the stuff at the grocery store! Super cheap, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
So yummy. I made this three days ago and it has not crystallized yet, I wiped down the sides with wet paper towel and I did not stir after it came to boil and until it had cooled down to 140°F. It has strong chocolate flavor but that is a part of how delicious it is. I'm making a new batch tomorrow because this one disappeared too quickly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States