Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Great! Traditional fudge. Substituted unsweetened almond milk and it turned out perfect. Electric stove simmer setting would never have reached 238, so upped it a bit and waited. Took some time, but totally worth it. Makes for a nice gift. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I have never tried fudge, as it's not popular where I live. I have never made it as well. So after I had bough a candy thermometer I decided to give it a try. No stirring and no shaking during simmering. Waited it to cool till 140 F (had no patience to wait further). Then mixed in butter, vanilla and shredded coconut. After beating this vigorously I spooned it out in the pan generously sprinkled with more shredded coconut and then put it in the fridge only for an 1 hour! (yes, I'm too impatient). And it seems to me I made everything right, as it was so easy to slice and not chewy/grainy at all (and with a beautiful coconut bottom). Anyway I give it only 4 stars, as IMO it's OVER-SWEET. After eating a few squares I've got a toothache. I'm sure it's necessary to cut down the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Wasnt difficult, cooked the butter with it, only added vanilla at the end. Doubled the mixture, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Excellent recipe ,best fudge I have ever made .easy peasy to make but stick to recipe and use sugar themomater! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Just like Gramma used to make!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This is what I've been searching for!! I'm so pleased to have found it. This is, without a doubt, the best fudge I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cbouvia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I just made this, following the exact recipe and I am so impressed. This was my first time ever making fudge and it turned out fantastic. It has the minimalist of graininess, which was amazing as I messed up twice. (I misunderstood the starting directions and didn't stir it till it started to boil, and wasn't able to remove all of the crystallized pan edges). I'm very happy with the results and can't wait to master this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I tried this recipe because it seemed easy, but I obviously screwed it up. I must not have beaten it long enough? After cooking, beating, etc., I put it in the pan, put in the fridge and went out for a few hours. After returning, it was still not set. However, it is a really delicious sauce! I'm going to try this again, I must not have cooked it long enough either, even though my thermometer was reading around 238 degrees when I removed from the heat. It is raining today, I don't know if that is a factor. But I am determined, and I'm going to give this another go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
This is the recipe my Grandfather made, passed it down to my Mom who taught me. You have to make sure it gets to the "soft ball" stage otherwise it does become sugary (238F). When you beat it by hand with a wooden spoon, put the pot in cold water in the sink, this helps to cool it down and as it starts to harden on the sides, it is ready to put into the pan. It should set immediately. Then pour milk into the pot so as not to waste any chocolate and have a wonderful mug of hot chocolate with a piece of fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Does anyone know approximately how long to beat the fudge for? Because mine just doesn't seem to be setting! and also is beating with an electric beater an option or does it have to be by hand?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States