Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
My husband and I made up a batch of this decadent treat for Christmas. Of course, being first time fudgies, we tried to follow the advice in the comments section. We took the advice of one who said to wait until the cooling mixture reaches 115 degrees F before adding the butter and vanilla and beating it. The fudge lost it's sheen very quickly and set up as we were pouring it into the pan. It was crumbly and hard and although it tasted great I decided to attemp a "fix". I crumbled the entire batch, put it into a microwave safe bowl and heated it up on high power for 3 minutes. I added another tablespoon of butter and re- beat the mixture until it started to lose it's shine and quickly presses it into a pan. Our family loved it. I can't wait to make it for our next special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGICMYSTERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
If you are someone that likes baking quick breads and cookies with no patience, this recipe is not for you. If you want to learn and are afraid to mess it up, try making a few batches of simple syrup (you'll never buy fake lemonade again!) and then progress to caramels (sugar wax, taffy, whatever) to get the hang of working with sugar. This is a great recipe. Simple ingredients and I was able to talk someone through it as I'm just getting over the flu and he hasn't worked much with sugars. It was a little gritty because nobody is perfect. X-) BUT my five year old took a highly anticipated bite and whispered, "It tastes like chocolate cake and candy," with huge eyes. That alone earns it five stars. Easy to cut and get out of the dish. We doubled the recipe and followed a lot of the tips in the reviews. The small amount of grittiness was probably because the sides of the pot weren't swiped down very religiously. Made it on an electric stove in a large pot usually used for boiling pasta. Simmered very slowly to get as accurate of a temp reading as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I thought it was okay. It was almost gritty, but I really liked the taste. It was addicting! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Excellent! Just as I remember eating when I was a kid! Light and melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This is a great fudge recipe and thanks to all the helpful hints. I have had problems in the past with my fudge setting and not becoming crystalized or like taffy, this set up perfect everytime with the help of all the tips! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is the best fudge ever- We wouldn't have Christmas without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Turned out crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This is the first time for me to make fudge. I mixed the cocoa and sugar in the pan with a wisk to get rid of any lumps, then I poured in raw, whole milk. I continued to stir on med. heat with the wisk, and as soon as it started to bubble, I quit stirring. I used a candy thermometer, and was surprised how long it took to get to 238 degrees also. I wanted to cover the pan, but didn't, just watched the mercury slowly climb. As soon as it hit soft ball stage, I shut off the flame and tossed in the butter and vanilla. I waited until the thermometer read 115 degrees and started to stir with a wooden spoon. I had to sit down and hold the pan between my knees to stir it. When the gloss disappeared, I grabbed my pan, turned around to pour it, and the fudge set up like concrete! I managed to get it out of the pot into the pan, pressed it like a graham cracker crust, threw it in the oven at 200 for a few minutes, pulled it out, pressed it some more then threw it in the refridgerator. It's a little crumbly, but oh, heaven in a pan! it melts in your mouth, so yummy! Think I'll start stirring around 130 degrees and have the pan ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by warriorscheyenne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I think this is a good recipe, but I'm terrible at making fudge and candy. The flavour is good, but mine turned out crumbly and dry. Not sure if I let it cool too long before beating or if it just got over cooked. Ah well, fudge defeats me again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is the fudge I grew up with and have always made. My family loves it with raisins instead of nuts (we have several nut allergy's in the family). You have to really watch the temp when you make it and make sure that all the sugar is melted BEFORE it hits the boiling point. If your fudge turns out sugary or over cooked, you can "fix" it by putting it back in the pot with more cream and melting it down and re-cooking it. Just remember all sugar melted before you hit the boiling point. 2nd problem many people have is not beating it long enough or starting to beat it before it's cooled down. The recipe says to start beating right away. Don't do it. Wait until the fudge cools to around 160. My mom always said to wait until you could touch the bottom of the pan and keep your hand there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States