Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Turned out crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This is the first time for me to make fudge. I mixed the cocoa and sugar in the pan with a wisk to get rid of any lumps, then I poured in raw, whole milk. I continued to stir on med. heat with the wisk, and as soon as it started to bubble, I quit stirring. I used a candy thermometer, and was surprised how long it took to get to 238 degrees also. I wanted to cover the pan, but didn't, just watched the mercury slowly climb. As soon as it hit soft ball stage, I shut off the flame and tossed in the butter and vanilla. I waited until the thermometer read 115 degrees and started to stir with a wooden spoon. I had to sit down and hold the pan between my knees to stir it. When the gloss disappeared, I grabbed my pan, turned around to pour it, and the fudge set up like concrete! I managed to get it out of the pot into the pan, pressed it like a graham cracker crust, threw it in the oven at 200 for a few minutes, pulled it out, pressed it some more then threw it in the refridgerator. It's a little crumbly, but oh, heaven in a pan! it melts in your mouth, so yummy! Think I'll start stirring around 130 degrees and have the pan ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by warriorscheyenne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I think this is a good recipe, but I'm terrible at making fudge and candy. The flavour is good, but mine turned out crumbly and dry. Not sure if I let it cool too long before beating or if it just got over cooked. Ah well, fudge defeats me again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is the fudge I grew up with and have always made. My family loves it with raisins instead of nuts (we have several nut allergy's in the family). You have to really watch the temp when you make it and make sure that all the sugar is melted BEFORE it hits the boiling point. If your fudge turns out sugary or over cooked, you can "fix" it by putting it back in the pot with more cream and melting it down and re-cooking it. Just remember all sugar melted before you hit the boiling point. 2nd problem many people have is not beating it long enough or starting to beat it before it's cooled down. The recipe says to start beating right away. Don't do it. Wait until the fudge cools to around 160. My mom always said to wait until you could touch the bottom of the pan and keep your hand there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Just like Mom's DON'T FORGET TO BUTTER THE PAN FIRST TO SAVE ON YOUR POT!!!! This is exactly what I have been trying to perfect and it wasl ALWAYS runny. You DO have to beat for quite a while to get to the "non-glossy" stage. I added peanut butter and oats. PERFECT!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
My ex husband mastered this fudge and didn't use a candy therometer. His mom started making this fudge years ago. I could never get it to turn out smooth and creamy. I finally bought a candy therometer, made it and it turned out AMAZING! Love it with nuts! HANDS DOWN this IS the best fudge EVER! And I can now make it myself. (If I could give it 10 stars I would! It takes work, but it is well worth the effort of stirring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
My fudge turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemmonsgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is my family's recipe as well. So glad to see fudge that doesn't cheat by using marshmallow cream!!!! it does take time to perfect but its well worth it. The peanut butter version is just as yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
it is delicious but i suggest you might want to double or triple the recipe it is very thing depending on the size pan you use. although it is delicious so you should try it. the only reason i didn't give it a five is because i tdoesn't make a bunch like i said it is kind of thin layered so i hope you enjoyed it as much as i did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I started making fudge when I was 12 years old. I am now 58. This is the recipe I used back in '64 and continue using today. Sometimes I use nuts the more the better for me. However, this recipe is just as good without nuts. I never use a thermometer although thats a good idea. I use the *test for soft ball* way to to know the fudge has cooked long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States