Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is the kind of fudge we used to make as kids. Excellent. I remembered well how it took great patience and time to create creamy, sweet (but not sickenly,sweet like the condensed milk kind of recipes)fudge. Follow the recipe and cok it over low heat. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
My mom made this when I was a kid. Like another reviewer said, it is similar to the one that used to be on Hershey's cocoa; the difference is the qty. of each ingredient. This is the only fudge there is, in my opinion. It is truly a treat! Might take a little longer to make, but it is WORTH it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
My mom taught me how ot make this version when I was 15, using the soft ball method. Sometimes I liking adding a bit of smooth peanut butter to cut the edge off the rich chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This tasted good, but my fudge making skills aren't very good and it didn't set, most likely because I didn't beat it long enough. My husband has used the soft chocolate as a spread on crackers and bread, and likes it very much more than peanut butter or Nutella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tblevins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I made a fun video that was completely inspired by this recipe!!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDJax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
First try - NOT GOOD. I think I may have dropped a drop of water in the hot liquid as I was testing for soft ball stage. It didn't change at the time, but the end result was weird. As one lady said, after I pulled it off the heat, I waited to 180 then put butter and vanilla on top. I prepped for the mixer - elbow hurting- when I began mixing, in like two seconds, it was matte and glopping up. There were no grains of sugar - and I stopped stirring at soft ball stage and took off heat. I did put it in a dish, and if it still tastes good, I may coat it with something and serve as truffle or something as others have done. Later today - round two. I have prepped for it. I have put in 1/2 TBSp corn starch. We shall see how this round goes. I am not giving up. I will go broke before I give up. (2) cooked for a second time and it was a PAIN. BUT it came out crispy like a familiar honeycomb candy I recall from England. It is yummy. Look forward to round 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kati
Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
i consider myself a very good sampler of great chocolate fudge and in my on thoughts this has to be the closest to what i get at my north carolina state fair each year thanks so much for printing it, i made my first batch and it lasted only a short time when family tasted it , it's great stuff, i encourage everyone to try it, Donnie,nc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This is the best fudge I have ever had! This was the first time I have ever made fudge (not counting microwave, chocolate chip, sweetened condensed milk kind). I followed the advice from other reviewers, other internet sources, and one of my mom's old cook books. I buttered my pan first, added some salt and instant coffee powder in the beginning, only string it until it reached a boil over low heat, put in a candy thermometer and waited until it got up to 236 degrees F (it took a while), turned off the heat, cut up and left the butter to melt on top until it cooled to 110 degrees F without disturbing it, added the vanilla and stirred it until it became really thick (it took 5-10 minutes and gave me a blister on my hand), and pushed it into a buttered 8x8 inch pan. It came out great, and very smooth and creamy. It was thunder storming while I made it so it was probably pretty humid but that didn't seam to cause a problem. I cut it into 64 squares (1 inch cubes) with no problem. Will definitely make this again especially since I can with very basic ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I made this for my family, but I made a half recipe because we were low on stuff, it was DELICIOUS! I think I did something wrong, but the sugar wasn't melted all the way but otherwise it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
this was my first attempt at fudge and it was AMAZING! the BEST fudge i've ever had. it is best if you line the pan with a thin layer of butter and put it in the fridge before you put in the fudge. this makes the fudge come out without sticking. this is a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States