Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Just like my grandmother used to make. So velvety smooth, and what fudge should taste like. Nothing like the quick marshmallow fluff stuff that most people today try to pass off as fudge. People, real old fashioned fudge does take time, and yes…it does take a bit of actual physical labor. This is not a “pop it in the microwave and it’s done” type of candy, so don’t even bother (and please don't rate it) if you won’t take the time or won’t follow the directions, because chances are you will end up with a grainy brick. In saying that, this recipe is simple enough that even first time fudge makers can make it turn out perfect…if they just take their time, and they follow the directions. This is 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by herbwife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
5 stars for the taste...it's wonderful. First time I made it, I didn't cook it quite long enough and after beating it to death, I ended up keeping it in the fridge and we ate it with a spoon. Tonight I made it for the second time [with a candy therm. this time] and I followed the instructions...and about 20 secs into beating it, it was not even spreadable...now it's dry and crumbly... :-( Maybe the third time will be the charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I finally found a fudge recipe like my moms that I can actually make! I wish there was a set stirring time though. I think I over stirred just a bit. It turned out a little hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TISFEMIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
A great, authentic fudge. Despite what some reviewers have said, I found it really pretty easy and straightforward, and the outcome was perfect. A little bit time consuming but worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is my mother's fudge recipe. I have been looking for it for a while now. Follow the tips in other reviews for terrific results. You will not go back to the marshmallow/chocolate chip stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I just have a question; what percent milk is best to use?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paonia, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Merry Christmas everyone. Just made this fudge and it was outstanding. THANK you for all the extra hints...... My gram used to make this and my mom.. I used to start the beating hahaha but never finished .. Gram and mom would.. I DID it all today.. They would be pleased.. Great recipe and love the simplistic of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was my first attempt at making fudge and it turned out perfect. I read the reviews and followed the hints the other reviewers suggested. Great recipe that reminded me of the fudge my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This fudge is delicious and not too difficult to make. The instructions are, however, a bit misleading. Step 2 tells you to "reduce heat and simmer." This will not work. You can't reach the temperature of 238 degrees while simmereing. I went online after 20 minutes without a temperature change and found others calling for a "boil" during the heating process. Once I upped the heat, I had the temperature in 10 additional minutes. You should not need to cook the fudge longere than 15 minutes to get it to 238. Would be nice, too, if there was a bit more description on what "loses its sheen" means. Mine barely changed at all after 20 minutes of beating the daylights out of it and I poured it onto the pan. Set up fine and turned out perfect. There should also be an instruction not to start the beating until the temperature of the fudge drops to about 115 degerees F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fort Myers Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Amazing recipe Android as long as you have a candy thermometer you can't fail. I had never mad fudge before or any kind of candy in my life. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 356) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States