Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
So, funny story about this recipe. I have this exact recipe passed down to me from my Grandma, but I never met my Grandma so I always made it the way my mom made it. That meant when we tested the fudge in water the fudge needed to make a hard ball (not a soft ball) and it was never beaten. It was always more like a......chocolate hard candy almost. I managed to tweak it so that it was more grainy and soft, but not really FUDGE. So THIS time after reading this recipe it came out like fudge! I'm so excited! I wish my Grandma was around for me to have asked her how SHE made it :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Russell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I love this recipe. I mix mine with a stand-up mixer, so I stop mixing after 2 minutes 30 seconds. If the consistency is too runny, I continue mixing in 30 second intervals. I don't mix until the mixture looses its gloss because the fudge will turn out too dry. It's my fault for using a stand-up, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
can you replace 1\2 1\2 for the milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Let me tell you this recipe tested my resolve to make fudge. First batch would not set not for love or money. Tasted great and should of just made some kick icing with it or brownies but no ...I read you can recook it down and start over. Dont do it ..I repeat do not do it. Consider that a lesson learned, salvage what you can. Second round after giving myself a day to lick my wounds I tried again. Working with a double the recipe for my larger pan, what worked for me is this ... I checked my candy thermometer for accurancy by boiling water, as boiled water should reach 212. Next I made the ice water to test soft ball method and an ice bath to cool my pot.Used a medium high heat, a bigger and heavier non stick pot and after the intial boil, did not stir. Made sure it was a low rolling boil and cooked for about 20 minutes to desired temp, tested the soft ball method to confirm my thermometer and placed pot in ice bath to cool. Took no time at all and added the butter and vanilla and stirred maby 10 minutes till it lost its sheen. Done thank you god ! Boyfriend cringed when I said I was trying fudge one more time, but Im no quitter and yes I finally got the fudge !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I cooked this using my candy thermometer to 238 degrees. I let it cool to about 160 degrees before adding the butter and vanilla. After adding the butter it lost it's sheen in about 1 minute and got really crumbly. I have pressed it into the pan and I'm hoping once it cools I can possibly cut it. I was really hoping this would come out good because I am making goodie trays for work. This one will not be going into the trays. I will stick to another no fail recipe I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Pretty thin, and I don't see 60 squares coming out of it. The taste is great and double the ingredients would make this a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Im goin to be makin this fudge for the first time this week. I remember when I was little watching my grandma make it every year. I remember she always buttered the plate she poured on & I couldnt hardly wait for it to set so I could have some. Im hopin mine will turn out just as good as hers always did. I even have the big pot she used to make it in so how can it go wrong. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
This is my all time favorite fudge! It does take precise timing to turn out just right! Its been our family recipe for years! At least the original Hersheys cocoa one is. No better fudge!! I use an electric mixer instead of spoon, works faster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I have never made old fashioned fudge before and this turned out beautifully. I followed the advice on other reviews and buttered the pot before adding ingredients, used a candy thermometer, and wiped around the edge of the pan before stirring. Turned out creamy and delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
This is the fudge my mom always made for holidays. I learned how to make it from her and now I'm teaching the nieces and nephews. It does take practice to figure out just when to pour it into the pan. Mom always said it has to be gloppy. When it's done right it is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States