Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This recipe did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Sells

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I've made fudge twice in my life and both times it's been this recipe. It was great and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Latasha Woolems

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Wonderful recipe, I love that it can be made with just a few ingredients that even a beginner usually has. Just need to re-emphasis a few things. Combine the sugar, coco and milk before heating the mixture. This not only saves time and vigilance watching the mixture boil but brakes down the sugar crystals (to an extent) before they can threaten to transform into chocolate toffee but also makes the initial stirring easier and less necessary. Using this method the second time I attempted this recipe the fudge almost boiled out of the pot, and would have if not for quick reflexes and a bigger pot handy. Now I use the rising process to indicate when to turn down the heat. Testing the consistency without a thermometer can be tricky but an easier way to gain a visual indication is to drip a bit in a glass/bowl of water and rather than testing its buoyancy, if it does not go cloudy it is usually fine, however I wait until the drop floats for the best consistency. To re-emphasis what other members have stated, wait until the pot cools before adding the butter and vanilla. Again not using a thermometer, a good indication is when you can touch the pot without immediately removing your hand. Quick work is needed for the final mixing and poring ready to set. There is no real difference with brown or white sugar. The result is defiantly worth the sore hand. 1.So again, Mix before heating. 2.If its cloudy, its not ready. 3.Let it cool before adding the final ingredients. xEM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I give this only three because when I made it exactly as stated, it tasted much too dark (to the point where it tasted more like cocoa powder than chocolate) and would not set. I tried some of the other reviewers recipe alterations and liked the taste a bit better, but then found it to be too sweet after cooling. And it still came out like soup. So then I made it to my tastes: 2.5c sugar, 2/3c. cocoa powder, 6T. butter divided, 1.25c. milk, 1T. vanilla, and 1/4 t. salt. Loved the taste...had to cook it to 255 in order for it to get to a soft ball when dropped in cold water. It COULD be that my thermometer is inaccurate, but I cook candies (taffy, caramel, etc) frequently, and I never have problems when following the instructions (at least not by a difference of 14 degrees). Anyway, I chose to use this recipe because of the method--I'm kind of old school that way :) I will say this, though, don't judge the taste until after it has cooled and set completely. It will likely taste dark when it is still warm and soft, but the sweetness intensifies with cooling. Good method...generally accurate instructions, thought the ingredients could use a few tweaks, but overall not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Brand new to this fudge thing and it turned out amazing!!! I undercooked it the first time and it refused to be beaten(it was like syrup). I put it back on the stove and boiled the heck out of it and I got my soft ball within 5 minutes of it being boiled on medium heat. After that I let it cool for 10 minutes and it was beautiful!!! If I can do it you certainly can
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I made this last night and let me say OMG !! It just melts in your mouth . It took me almost an hour of cooking it I don't have a candy thermometer It says to not stir but I stired it the whole time but I used a wire whisk to stir. It does not make very much .I got a thin layer of an 8 x8 square pan . I WILL be making this again and hope it will turn out as good as this batch !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This is strictly old fashioned fudge and the best! The only way I make it. Only thing I will change is, spray your cooking pot with Pam as it prevents "sugaring!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
this is the same recipe my mom used to make (I am 55) hands down the best fudge recipe . cooking with sugar is tough . a couple hints , once you have mixed the cocoa, sugar and milk thoroughly set the timer on your stove to 22 min, set the temp on the dial to about 8.5 out of ten , stir constantly. Once it boils set the temp down to 4. I lift the pot just off the burner for about 2 min to let the heat relax a bit . then set it down, leave it be do not touch it or stir it. start testing for the soft ball stage when there is about 2 min left on the timer. Have a clear glass of cold water , use a clean spoon dip it in a let 1 drop of liquid fudge drip in , when it hits the bottom of the glass it should be a firm little ball with a tail. if it lands and splashed down flat it is too early. by about 1 minute. if you reach in and grab the little ball from the glass it should squeeze flat very easily but stay together , that is the soft ball state.Remove from the heat and drop in the butter and vanilla, beat constantly for about 10 minutes , until it is getting dull, really what is happening is it is cooling at the same time , once it is dull it should still be liquid enough to pour into the pan like a thick pancake batter. Let it cool on a counter before you refrigerate it . Hope that provides some of the instruction that is always missing from recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Great! Traditional fudge. Substituted unsweetened almond milk and it turned out perfect. Electric stove simmer setting would never have reached 238, so upped it a bit and waited. Took some time, but totally worth it. Makes for a nice gift. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I have never tried fudge, as it's not popular where I live. I have never made it as well. So after I had bough a candy thermometer I decided to give it a try. No stirring and no shaking during simmering. Waited it to cool till 140 F (had no patience to wait further). Then mixed in butter, vanilla and shredded coconut. After beating this vigorously I spooned it out in the pan generously sprinkled with more shredded coconut and then put it in the fridge only for an 1 hour! (yes, I'm too impatient). And it seems to me I made everything right, as it was so easy to slice and not chewy/grainy at all (and with a beautiful coconut bottom). Anyway I give it only 4 stars, as IMO it's OVER-SWEET. After eating a few squares I've got a toothache. I'm sure it's necessary to cut down the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valeria

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States