Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is the ingredients and directions for the Fudge I was raised on and make(just amounts a little diff). Not many make fudge this way! Of course my favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This recipe is perfect!! After adding the butter and vanilla, I stirred for about 15 minutes. Thought that might help newbie fudge makers like me who have zero idea of how long to expect to stir. Mine has set up beautifully. Woo hoo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
First time trying this recipe and it didn't go well. I'm experienced with making candy and understand the various techniques. etc. I used my candy thermometer and a pan of water to test for soft ball stage beginning when my thermometer hit 230F. I followed the recommendation I saw from several people & let it cool to 115F before stirring even though I thought this temp was a bit on the low side. Added my butter & vanilla and ended up with a bunch of chocolate rocks and dust. I tried a bite of one of the rocks and the flavor was excellent, so I know this is a good recipe. I will try again but will listen to my gut as far as how long to cool before adding the butter & vanilla and start stirring. IMO, 115F is way too low. Will post another review after my next attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I used to make this every St. Nicholas day ( on an electric stove) for my kids stockings, sometimes late at night before Saint Nicholas arrived. It can be a kind of a fussy thing to make but if you get used to its trouble spots, it is fun and easy. Here is what I know about this recipe: 1. You must run a sink with cold water.Turn the faucet away from that sink when you are finished. Then lightly butter the pan or marble where you will be putting it 2. Go ahead and mix all the ingredients at once, I have never put the butter and vanilla in last, I was always afraid to, because once I let a drop of water in it as I was beating it. It wouldn't set, it turned into just chocolate syrup. 3. Bring it to a rolling boil stirring all the time so that you don't burn the chocolate (a very bad flavor.) I usually stir it with a small whisk. Keep every bit moving (like making kettle corn.) Once it is boiling, check the time. Boil for 5 minutes. 4. after 5 minutes take from the heat, begin by stirring it away from the heat for a bit then slowly lower it into the water, keep stirring, you should eventually feel it thicken a bit on the bottom of the pan, then lift it out of the water and let the temperature equalize throughout. Keep stirring, and watch the sheen on the surface, if it starts to show signs of pulling or loses it's gloss it is time to pour. If not repeat the water step. There is a tiny window where you should pour it out. Once you have done it a few times you'll know it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Great fudge! It's the first time I make this type of fudge. Be patient in letting it simmer, it takes a while, you will see it decrease in volume some. I stuck to it (since i did not have a cooking thermometer) and I kept dropping drops of fudge in the cup of cold water. I had to change the water several times, since it got all cloudy at first. Finally, after a while, I saw balls of chocolate in the water and I knew it was done. I also added toasted walnuts to mine, after adding the butter and AFTER mixing it thoroughly till it lost its sheen (about 5 min. of vigorous stirring). It set perfectly in the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudia

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I tried this and it hasn't quite set yet, so I have my fingers crossed. I added raisins and a 2 tbsp. of maple syrup, topped it off with unsweetened coconut flakes and a scintilla of powered sugar. The mixture tastes great, and if it doesn't set properly, I'll try again! Very happy that I found this recipe and practicing now before the holidays! Thank you for this recipe and thanks to everyone for all your helpful tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Thank you so much for this recipe. I haven't made it yet but I know it is good. This is the fudge my mom always made but I never had the recipe. I can remember it so clearly because after she put in the vanilla and butter, it was my job to beat it. I had to hold the bottom of the pan under a slow stream of cold water to help it cool down and heaven help me if I got water in it. For all of you who have ever made fudge. If it doesn't set, call it spoon fudge and serve it with spoons. I have made many batches of peanut butter spoon fudge until I found 2 recipes on this site. My spoon fudge days are over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzymae30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Let me start with this: I have never made candy before, I own an electric stove, I don't own a wooden spoon or a candy thermometer,so this adventure was doomed from the start! I had shoulder surgery about 6 weeks ago so I knew I would not be able to beat the mixture. Here is what I did. I used the heaviest pot I have and used cold water with a few ice cubes in it to make it super cold. I cooked the mixture until I thought I got a soft ball. Took it off the heat and added the butter and vanilla. Then I let it sit until it was somewhat cooler. Since I could not beat the dickens out of it by hand, I used my electric mixer on low until I was sure the sheen was gone. The results: the mixture set before I could get it in the pan. I scooped it out and pressed it in the pan. The mistake I think I made was beating it too long and/or cooking it too long. The fudge tastes absolutely delicious! I will make this again and alter how long I beat the mixture. Oh and I made delicious hot cocoa with the remains from the cooking pan as suggested by another reviewer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is the fudge recipe I grew up with in the 50's...love it! What memories I have of my sister and I making this fudge, and how wonderful it was! If it didn't set up or harden, not a problem, we just ate it like it was! Truly fond memories of those experiences! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This fudge turned out amazingly! As always, I had a heart attack waiting for it to come to temp, took about 25 mins, but my candy thermometer is an old friend, and trusting it got the fudge perfect. Once it hit soft-ball stage, I dropped the butter in pieces, and let it sit until melted, the stirred it for about 10 mins, it was still a bit glossy, but was firming up well. Put it in a pan lined with parchment paper (so it can be lifted right out of the pan, and cut easily), turned out great. Kudo's to the reviewer who suggested making hot chocolate with the mixture that stuck to the pan, that was also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States