Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Never make it on a humid day. The flavor was great, but it was sticky and too soft. I'm going to try making it again when the humidity level is lower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This turned out like syrup,and I followed the recipe to a T. Not your fault,obviously,from all the great reviews. I will try it once more and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Heizman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunshineGirlG
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This turned out really really yummy. This was my first time making fudge and I have an electric stove so I was worried. When it got to the soft boil stage it looked like this photo and I took a picture because if it turned out I wanted to remember that this is how it's supposed to look. I thought I'd share for other worriers. If it looks like this, you're doing it right ;-). Try it, it wasn't that hard (except for the beating until it loses its shine party, my arm aches) and it's so good. My husband says it's better than his grandpa's and that's the highest praise possible! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I followed this recipe to a T and it came out like sticky caramel and would not set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. It made no sense to me to reduce to simmer during the boil but I went ahead and followed the directions and all it did was lose too much heat and then at the simmer it was on the heat too long and burnt in the pan. I'll stick to Hershey's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Valtin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
So, funny story about this recipe. I have this exact recipe passed down to me from my Grandma, but I never met my Grandma so I always made it the way my mom made it. That meant when we tested the fudge in water the fudge needed to make a hard ball (not a soft ball) and it was never beaten. It was always more like a......chocolate hard candy almost. I managed to tweak it so that it was more grainy and soft, but not really FUDGE. So THIS time after reading this recipe it came out like fudge! I'm so excited! I wish my Grandma was around for me to have asked her how SHE made it :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie Russell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I love this recipe. I mix mine with a stand-up mixer, so I stop mixing after 2 minutes 30 seconds. If the consistency is too runny, I continue mixing in 30 second intervals. I don't mix until the mixture looses its gloss because the fudge will turn out too dry. It's my fault for using a stand-up, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I cooked this using my candy thermometer to 238 degrees. I let it cool to about 160 degrees before adding the butter and vanilla. After adding the butter it lost it's sheen in about 1 minute and got really crumbly. I have pressed it into the pan and I'm hoping once it cools I can possibly cut it. I was really hoping this would come out good because I am making goodie trays for work. This one will not be going into the trays. I will stick to another no fail recipe I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
The taste is great and double the ingredients would make this a favorite. Pretty thin, and I don't see 60 squares coming out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Im goin to be makin this fudge for the first time this week. I remember when I was little watching my grandma make it every year. I remember she always buttered the plate she poured on & I couldnt hardly wait for it to set so I could have some. Im hopin mine will turn out just as good as hers always did. I even have the big pot she used to make it in so how can it go wrong. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States