Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Fab, the third time I made it I felt brave enough to deviate from the recipe and throw in a handful of chopped white chocolate at the end with the butter. It gives a milky lighter taste and a more "fudge-like" colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Wow - this is a wonderful recipe; however, the success or failure definately depends on a) getting the mixture off the heat just as soon as the soft ball forms in ice water and b) you're going to beat this for awhile - however, just as soon as it begins to lose it's sheen - STOP! Pour it into your pan and wait for chocolately heaven! (I made this recipe once before and it turned out awful - dry and crumbly. Made the necessary adjustments and it was absolutely wonderful!) Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This makes the best fudge ever if you do it right. Follow the directions TO THE T. Don't skimp out on work. Real fudge takes work.... and tastes AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
If you're like me, never made fudge or any kind of candy, save yourself a couple of failed batches and go to the 'how to make fudge' section in this site. Youtube also has some how-to-make fudge demos where you can actually see what softball stage looks like, what the fudge should look like when you stir it, etc. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
LOVE LOVE LOVE This brought a flood of memories of me making fudge with my grandpa when I was a little girl. I can't wait to share this experience with my little girl. And...it came out perfect the 1st time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Great and easy! Just don't stir after it reaches boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
My husband and I made up a batch of this decadent treat for Christmas. Of course, being first time fudgies, we tried to follow the advice in the comments section. We took the advice of one who said to wait until the cooling mixture reaches 115 degrees F before adding the butter and vanilla and beating it. The fudge lost it's sheen very quickly and set up as we were pouring it into the pan. It was crumbly and hard and although it tasted great I decided to attemp a "fix". I crumbled the entire batch, put it into a microwave safe bowl and heated it up on high power for 3 minutes. I added another tablespoon of butter and re- beat the mixture until it started to lose it's shine and quickly presses it into a pan. Our family loved it. I can't wait to make it for our next special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGICMYSTERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
If you are someone that likes baking quick breads and cookies with no patience, this recipe is not for you. If you want to learn and are afraid to mess it up, try making a few batches of simple syrup (you'll never buy fake lemonade again!) and then progress to caramels (sugar wax, taffy, whatever) to get the hang of working with sugar. This is a great recipe. Simple ingredients and I was able to talk someone through it as I'm just getting over the flu and he hasn't worked much with sugars. It was a little gritty because nobody is perfect. X-) BUT my five year old took a highly anticipated bite and whispered, "It tastes like chocolate cake and candy," with huge eyes. That alone earns it five stars. Easy to cut and get out of the dish. We doubled the recipe and followed a lot of the tips in the reviews. The small amount of grittiness was probably because the sides of the pot weren't swiped down very religiously. Made it on an electric stove in a large pot usually used for boiling pasta. Simmered very slowly to get as accurate of a temp reading as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I thought it was okay. It was almost gritty, but I really liked the taste. It was addicting! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Excellent! Just as I remember eating when I was a kid! Light and melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States