Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Wonderful! Thanks so much for a simple old-fashioned recipe! I've been trying to find a regular chocolate for years...all I've ever had is PB. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Love this fudge! Turned out just like we like it and remember from our childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
maybe it's just me but this did not yield a lot of fudge at all. it wouldn't even cover the bottom of the pan. so maybe in the photographs people doubled or tripled the recipe? i'm also not sure how you would get sixty squares from this. it is good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by navigatorboy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Just like my mom use to make when I was growing up, the only difference my mother used a tablespoon of peanut butter in hers, but otherwise this is spot on, thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
FIRST TIME REAL FUDGE MAKER! Read the reviews and picked up on the Hershey's can recipe. Used the old can recipe and followed for the most part but used heavy cream 40% and the results are fantasic! I had no thermometer so I used the drop test and all was fine. I will try the 110 degree temp next time to aid in less beating. My boyfriend would not let me use chocolate chips or the box mix so I have found this recipe to really be much better and almost as easy. Goodbye to premix kits and the awful marshmellow creme mix. They don't even come close. Wish I had a slab of marble to pour on, this tempurs the mix much faster. Tomorrow I will make him Tiramisu. He always says nothing better than lovin from the oven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
DELICIOUS..... But not quite worth the hassle, in my opinion. It didn't yield anywhere near 60 pieces, and maybe I did something wrong, but it came out kind of grainy, (maybe the sugar didn't dissolve properly). Not that it wasn't good, because it was, and it was eaten quickly, but next time I'll stick to the marshmallow/chocolate chip recipes. This was my first fudge recipe that I didn't make with marshmallows and chocolate chips, and it still tasted very delicious, but it was no better or worse than the chocolate chip/marshmallow kind., and neither my husband nor I were able to tell a difference between this recipe and the one with the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I like that just a few things I had at home could make fudge that being said this recipe was short of some needed information. First of all the soft ball stage took some time, the hand beating also to loose the sheen also took a long time it would have been nice to say aprox how long each step would take eg.. five to ten min to soft ball stage etc.. or till hell freezes over what ever just to give an idea of how long is needed to make the fudge. After all is said and done the fudge came out nice, chocolaty, smooth wish it was a little more firm but the kids are enjoying eating it from the fridge ah gotta luv teanagers. This recipe is worth a try if you have nothing better to do for an aprox an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
My favorite fudge recipe! I make it exactly as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Fab, the third time I made it I felt brave enough to deviate from the recipe and throw in a handful of chopped white chocolate at the end with the butter. It gives a milky lighter taste and a more "fudge-like" colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Wow - this is a wonderful recipe; however, the success or failure definately depends on a) getting the mixture off the heat just as soon as the soft ball forms in ice water and b) you're going to beat this for awhile - however, just as soon as it begins to lose it's sheen - STOP! Pour it into your pan and wait for chocolately heaven! (I made this recipe once before and it turned out awful - dry and crumbly. Made the necessary adjustments and it was absolutely wonderful!) Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States