Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I've only made marshmallow fudge in the past but with all the chocolate chips, it gets pretty expensive. This is a nice and inexpensive alternative and it's fantastic. I followed lots of the reviews and it turned out perfectly. I mixed everything together and whisked it because my cocoa was pretty chunky - it might be a good idea to sift the cocoa if yours is lumpy but otherwise you can just whisk it in. I whisked it on medium heat for about five minutes and then it started the boil. When it was boiling, it got very bubbly and doubled in volume. This is when I stopped stirring and lowered to low heat. I didn't have a candy thermometer so I used my meat thermometer and after around 20 minutes, it was at the appropriate temperature. I took it off the heat and added the butter and vanilla right away (didn't leave time to cool as some people suggested, I forgot) and started stirring. After five minutes of stirring, it was still a bit shiny but was starting to stiffen and pull a bit in it's texture, so I scraped it into my pan. It set really fast in the fridge - about an hour - and it's the prefect softness. I put it in a banana bread loaf pan and it is a good thickness - I think it would be too thin if you use the larger pan. Great recipe! And totally do-able for someone who has never done fudge like this before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This recipe is very yummy but it does NOT yield 60 pieces in a 8x8 pan even if you double it. Use a smaller pan and it might cut up into 20 medium pieces
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I followed the recipe almost exactly as written, and without a candy thermometer. I only fudged it a bit when I used my hand held electric mixer. (hehe see what I did there?) In total it took about 45 minutes from start to finish. This is possibly the best fudge ever! Easy to do, but you'll doubt yourself the whole way through the first time as I did. I used the cold water technique with 2 ice cubes, although I never got a pliable ball; I decided to remove from the heat one a dribble sort of hung at the top of the water for a millisecond before falling to the bottom. Once it was off the heat, I let it sit for about 2 minutes and then I beat it on low using the electric mixer for a total of 5 minutes or so. I probably actually over-beat it a slight bit, as it didn't really want to come out of the pan as it was already starting to set! Next time I'll double the recipe to make thicker brownies as it only really makes about 16 medium sized thin pieces once sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PennyPup

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I made this recipe yesterday for my boyfriend and daughter who love chocolate fudge, it is delicious!! I will be making this more as the holidays come around to pass out through the family, thank you!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lena1234

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Watertown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I have made this fudge twice(same day) and both time it never set up. It was grainy and we did eat it with a spoon....... The day was warm and sunny don't know what happened
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Very easy recipe, Fudge was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This recipe is so easy. I have made it twice now 1st time with nuts 2nd time no nuts. I used a candy thermomoter.Followed the recipe to the letter. Turned out perfect. I don't like fudge that melts in your hand because it is so creamy. This is the perfect fudge for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Well this seemed to work. We tried two other recipes first that failed badly. It could be that here in calgary near the mountains with our higher elevation boiling point is different. We only went to 225 and it was at soft ball stage. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gertrude
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I was looking for a simple yet traditional recipe for fudge and this proved to be a great one. I had a little trouble knowing when the soft-ball stage occurred- for me it took nearly half and hour simmering. It would have helped if the time was listed in the recipe so those who don't own a candy thermometer would know. I beat my fudge for 5-10 minutes after adding the butter as suggested in the betty crocker cookbook. Great recipe- I do recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Earl, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maylward
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Fantastic recipe. It was my first time making fudge ever and it turned out 100x better than expected. I made it exactly as the recipe said with perfect results. Will definitely make this again, might toss in mint extract or chopped walnuts next time for a bit of variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fernie, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States