Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
Have never made fudge before.. would have been nice to know that even on the lowest freaking setting this can boil over like crazy!!!! I used a deep pan that wasnt even halfway full. Recipe says not to stir while simmering... what a mess. Teribble!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Hartsell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
I have made this recipe twice now and both times it didnt last the day! my family loved it! My nieces and nephew call it "chocolate" and ask me to please make them "the chocolate"... I will be keeping this recipe and I have a feeling it will be passed down for generations! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
i just made this recipe for the first time and i absolutely love it! I have had difficulty in the past with making fudge but i followed the instructions exactly and it turned out perfect. Deffinetly has that old fashioned fudge taste that i love. Great recipe for beginers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Really rich and delicious. I would recommend a thermometer for sure. Mine set as I was pouring it because I wasn't sure what I was looking for with "sheen." Next time, I know! Great old school fudge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
best fudge recipe i found so far, however i do not cool it down after it reaches temp. i remove from heat add vanilla and butter and stir stir stir until it looks like it wants to set up if i dont stir a min. i also dont grease my pan i use parchment paper, pour on top and let cool down to cut. It disappears quick in my house:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Knopsnyder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I hadn't made this old fashioned Hershey's cocoa fudge for years. I had forgotten just how absolutely delicious it is. You must know it is going to take some time and you can't hurry this fudge. It still has the best flavor and truly melts in your mouth. Follow the recipe as is and you will enjoy some tasty fudge. I did add one half cup of chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This was an excellent recipe! Yes, it's difficult to make--all fudge using the traditional method is--but it's sooooo worth the effort. Just be careful NOT TO STIR once the chocolate is boiling (sugar crystals in your candy=bad) keep it on a nice low temperature, cooking slowly over a long period of time, and beat the living crud out of it once it's at the right temp/stage. It's hard work but your tastebuds will thank you. I didn't have a candy thermometer or a wooden spoon, so I just used a metal one and whipped it 'til I thought my arm would fall off. But it was, bar none, the best tasting fudge I've ever had. The 'easy' kind doesn't compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin M. Bullock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I'm so glad I found this recipe! It's the closest thing to my mother's recipe that I have found. She passed away 8 yrs ago and I miss her dearly. We all loved her fudge & consider it to be the real thing. I had a general idea how she made it but needed the specifics, like amounts and the temp...very important to use the thermometer! I prefer these simple ingredients & the sugary texture as opposed to the creamy ones. I'm one of 7 children & I just sent this recipe to all of my siblings to enjoy :) THANKS SO MUCH for giving us Mom's recipe back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Schieber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This is the same recipe my mom made when I was growing up and everyone loved her fudge!! I thought it was on old family recipe from the south because I never knew of anyone else that made it this way. It is hard but melts in your mouth. I'm happy I now know how to make it for my family. I cook mine in a large iron skillet. My mom always used the cold water test. I use a thermometer ;) Perfect every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Tallerico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Never make it on a humid day. The flavor was great, but it was sticky and too soft. I'm going to try making it again when the humidity level is lower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States