Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
Fabulous, A Great dark chocolate cake. Very moist. This will now be the chocolate cake recipe for me to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Harlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
OH MY! Just divine! I brought this to a dinner party and it was a hit! Next time I'm going to make the frosting with just a tad less sugar. I'd like to get more of a melting affect. Thanks so much! The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
This cake is awesome. Next time I think I'll use 9 inch pans. The icing is thick enough to support a three layer cake. The recipe was also very precise. No guessing required. Make sure to turn cake out of pan before icing. Great recipe and divine cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
Cake was very yummy. I liked the cinnamon with the cocoa, gave it a unique flavor. I didn't make the icing to go with it as I was baking it for my daughter's birthday but definitely will next time as the cake tasted better before I frosted it with a premade frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
This really was the best. I was looking for a good, fast, inexpensive cake to make for my husband's birthday and found this recipe. To say that it was a hit is an understatement. Even my I-don't-like-anything-chocolate father and brother liked it! Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
I have to say this is the ONLY chocolate cake recipe I will ever need. I don't like chocolate cake but this is AWESOME. This is what I did, and I suggest you all do the same. I made the cake per instructions, except I omitted the cinnamon. I did not make the icing because I was looking for a basic chocolate cake recipe from scratch in order to make Better Than Sex Chocolate Cake II from this site. My advice is to combine these recipes. The Better Than Sex Chocolate Cake II asks to use a box of the devil's food cake mix but I'm a cake snob and will only make it from scratch. Follow the directions and you will have a truly AWESOME cake that, I have to admit, really did turn out better than sex. (You can read my review for that one as well). Refrigerate it first and it will be a hit and I believe everyone will absolutely love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
the cake turned out pretty good. Next time I make it, I will put less cinnamon in and more chocolate since you really could not taste much chocolate. Instead of buttermilk, I used regular milk even though I doubted it would turn out well. After all, it actually turned out good. It was a little too crumby, but the taste was great and the cake was soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
I left out the cinnamon, as recommended by others, and used regular milk in place of the buttermilk. I also had to half this recipe because I only had one egg. No big deal, the recipe turned out way better than I had expected. It was very moist and tasted great! I also threw in a handful of the mini chocolate chips for some extra chocolatey flavor. I didn't make the icing, because my family prefers cakes without icing. Awesome cake! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
this was good. i put 3 cups of sugar in the frosting and it came out too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
Oh my!!! This was so good! Moist and chocolaty! The frosting tasted like a layer of chocolate fudge! Yummy, yummy, yummy! Thanks a bunch for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States