Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
this came out a little fudgy for me which was commented on and raved about by all my friends. i skipped the cinnamon, used cream instead of buttermilk and used a different frosting though I am sure the pecans would have been delish. i think i want to have a few different awesome choco cake recipes and i will rename this one Fudgy to remind me:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EGGIWEG
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Wow. "The best thing ever," according to one of my guests. The cake is very moist and good, but the icing is truly amazing! I put the extra icing in the fridge... I'm eating it with a spoon. I will definitely be making this again. Small changes I made: added 1 extra tablespoon of cocoa powder to both the cake and the icing, and I added about 1/3 cup of chocolate chips to the cake (because, really, the more chocolate, the better.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EGGIWEG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
My husband made this cake for my birthday. Unfortunately I accidentally reversed the amounts of water and buttermilk while giving him the instructions; nevertheless the cake turned out great, with a fine, tender crumb. I did get my husband to make two other changes: we used coffee instead of cinnamon and halved the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
WOW!!! This turned out GREAT! I live at 5K feet, so usually cakes flop and turn out so gross, but I made this just the way the recipe says. I omitted the cinnamon, used whole milk instead of buttermilk, and substituted a "yogurt spread" for the butter. And baked in two 9" rounds for 28 minutes. Turned out GREAT! I added a bit more cocoa powder and it tastes great! I didn't use the frosting, sicne this is for the child I babysit, and his mom is going to decorate the cake for his birthday. Thank you! It's yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyfuljoyous
Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
what is the definition of cake? I was expecting a sponge. My cake came out flat with cracks all over it. There was way too much frosting for my flat cake, but as I poured it onto my cake it filled the cracks, now here is the twist everyone loved it and it was described a self saucing chocolate pudding as I warmed it up before serving with ice cream. Whilst I was dsappointed the rest of my family and guests want me too make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I made this recipe (cake only) with Splenda granular instead of sugar (and, as the Splenda site suggests for all cakes with Splenda, added 1/2 C of nonfat dry milk powder and 1/2 t baking soda for each C of Splenda used). This is the first chocolate cake that I have tried with Splenda that turned out well. If you substitute Splenda, reduce the cooking time by quite a bit and keep a check on it - Splenda cakes cook much faster than sugar cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
My family ate this cake for thanksgiving. It was a matter of a hour that it had been ate. I added sour cream about half cup to the icying. I like the taste better. Other than adding sour cream to the icying it was delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Very good, extremely moist cake. I made it exactly like the recipe and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This really was an amazing cake to make! I just started cooking and I also found it easy. At first I thought maybe I shouldn't use salted butter, and that the batter seemed too thin but everything worked out perfectly. The frosting, was delicious and I found myself eating while making it. I made this for Thanksgiving and it was gone that same day! Everyone asked for the recipie and asked me when I learned to cook! I added semi-sweet chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Excellent, easy cake. I didn't use the frosting portion (served it with vanilla ice cream). In the cake I used half brown sugar for a bit more flavor, and the cinammon is a great addition. Overall a slightly lighter chocolate taste due to the use of cocoa, but stays moist and delicious for days. This is going in the permanent recipe file! I have also made cupcakes with this recipe--use the foil cups, put them on a baking sheet (no muffin tins), fill 1/2 - 3/4 full, and bake at 350 for approximately 15-20 minutes or until toothpick inserted in middle comes out clean. Frost with whatever frosting you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States