Old Fashioned Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This tasted even better the second day. The cinnamon was a nice touch. There was more frosting than needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I can't remember the last time I actually baked a cake from scratch. It was a special day, a good friends birthday, so I searched the website for a good chocolate cake. Based on the reviews, I chose this one! What a great choice! I baked the cake in a 9x13 pan and cut it into three and used the frosting in between the layers and on top, everybody just loved the cake, it was moist, and very very tasty! Especially with the cinnamon! I would certainly bake it again! Actually, now I am not going to buy cakes anymore, but bake them instead! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Ziel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Great tasting cake, made it for a Birthday at work, but I changed the cocoa powder to Ghiradelli cocoa squares (6 squares for the cake and 4 squares for the frosting) (this chocolate really makes a difference!) Everyone loved it. The next time I make it, I am going to put Ice Cream between two layers. The texture of this cake would be perfect as an Ice Cream Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made this for my husband's birthday, and he ADORED it. I'm not a big chocolate cake lover, normally, but I loved it, too. The cake was very moist and delicious, and the frosting was just fantastic! (We did leave out the pecans, because he doesn't care for them, but otherwise made the recipe exactly as written.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANVEAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaines, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Absolutely delicious! This does have a unique flavor from the cinnamon, but I wouldn't suggest omitting it. Also, the icing is a perfect match for the cake. The pecans add some texture and I find it really balances nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wildwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was by far the best Chocolate cake and frosting recipe I've ever made. It was a total winner with my family. This is the only Chocolate cake recipe I'll ever use........yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
FABULOUS!!!! I substituted the butter for Olive Oil and used Wheat Pastry flour and Raw Sugar instead of the all purpose flour and white sugar. Also, I omitted the the ground cinnamon. After baking and cooling, I topped it with a raspberry fruit spread (sweetened with apple juice) and topped it off with chocolate ganache The cake was very moist, very light, not too sweet and full of chocolate flavor. Simple and AMAZING....mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This cake is amazing.. Very moist... I have a cake business and have been looking for a good moist chocolate cake recipe... I did double the amount of cocoa I used and it made it really fudgy tasting almost like a brownie... Everybody loved this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Dollimount

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Glace Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Unfortunately this didn't work - firstly the most important ingredient 'baking powder' isn't listed, which didn't help a new cook such as myself, I only realized this after the cake was in the oven for 30 minutes. Secondly my oven was also to blame, there was something wrong with it and it totally flopped. But I blame the recipe since it's more convenient that way :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This is the best MEDIUM CHOCOLATE cake. Second best is Chocolate Sheet Cake. They are almost the same recipe except for all butter vs half butter, half shortening. Use the easier directions. It tastes the same. They both are thin batter so don't roundup very much - like you'd want for cupcakes. E's FAVORITE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States