Old Fashioned Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
I thought this was a very good recipe. It tasted delicious and it was a cinch to make. Next time I may use a half a can of more soup or add a little more milk just to make it a little more "soupier". It took a little more time to bake (50 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
I love this recipe. Nothing fancy, very easy. I mean, c'mon.... chicken pot pie is NOT a gourmet dish, and it SHOULD be a fast meal as this recipe demonstrates. My girlfriends and I get together every month for a theme dinner party, and this was featured at our "comfort food" dinner w/ mac n' cheese & ice cream sundaes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
My husband and kids loved this recipe!!! I altered it by adding defrosted frozen grean beans, peas and carrots and omitted the thyme and salt. I also added an extra half can of cream of chicken because I had it in the pantry and the mixture seemed a little bit too firm. I also prebaked the bottom of the pie for 5 minutes and had to increase the cooking time to 45 min (but maybe that's just my oven). Great recipe.....will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
easy and tasty. Warning-don't add any more of the thyme than called for and if you don't like this herb, try adding poultry seasoning. GREAT recipe as it, but a little too much thyme and your pot pie will taste like dirt. (yeah, I found that out first hand) My kids devoured this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Nice quick recipe, unfortunately too high in sodium for people with high blood pressure. It would have to modified to eliminate canned soup and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Very fast and easy. Use frozen crusts for even less hassle. Great for those nights you want to cook but don't have a lot of time. I used frozen veggies instead of canned. My kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
Excellent. I recomend adding a good shot of both garlic and onion powder. Beware if you're timing it closely because my pie took a little over an hour to bake completely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
This was a hit at my house! It is FANTASTIC! I used thawed, frozen veggies but followed everything else exactly. It does take a little longer to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Love this-so easy and tastes like it's homemade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
This was really good. I added a little more milk because it seemed a bit dry. Also used refrigerated crusts. Was even better the next day for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States