Old Fashioned Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
Very good. Used 2 cans cooked chicken, 1 can Cream of Potato, 1 can Cream of Chicken, and 1 1/2 cups frozen veggies in addition to the spices mentioned. Easy to prepare, great to keep one of these in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
easy and tasty. Warning-don't add any more of the thyme than called for and if you don't like this herb, try adding poultry seasoning. GREAT recipe as it, but a little too much thyme and your pot pie will taste like dirt. (yeah, I found that out first hand) My kids devoured this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This recipe turned out pretty good. It did seem like a lot of work considering how many pre-made frozen pot pie dishes there are available on the market. I made the following changes: cut thyme in half, added frozen mixed vegetables, added a can of pearl onions to the sauce (this was a huge mistake). If you enjoy the flavor of onions I recommend adding onion powder instead of the pearl onions I tried. They did not blend in with the dish and the texture was not something I enjoyed. I will probably not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This is a GREAT RECIPE!!!!!!!!!!! I'd give it 10 stars if I could!!! I couldn't help myself, I made a couple tiny changes that make this recipe sing! I poached my chicken with Bell's poultry seasoning- that's the key-, added a little more milk (1/2cup total) and a second can of cream of potato soup. I've tried this with frozen mixed veg and with Veg-All brand canned mixed vegetables and the Veg-All is the way to go! This meal is completed, in our house, with some cranberry sauce....DELICIOUS!!!!!!! EASY!!!!!!! WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
A classic! Instead of canned veggies, I use frozen mixed vegetables (thawed, of course), as well as thawed pearl onions in sauce. Also, cream of chicken soup, and no milk. You can use the refrigerated pie crusts to save time, too. A perfect dish for those cold Autumn nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Nice quick recipe, unfortunately too high in sodium for people with high blood pressure. It would have to modified to eliminate canned soup and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is a good recipe, easy to fix, and great comfort food. I used a refrigerated pie crust. I also left out the thyme because I'm not fond of it. Other than that I went exactly by this recipe. I don't like it when others rate a recipe low based on their idea of the nutrition value of the recipe. I also don't care to read that someone liked it but made a few changes. Or in other words they made an entirely different dish with their 'few' changes. If you think this is too high in sodium you can use low sodium soups and leave out the salt. If you're not comfortable with that make something else for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
I thought this was a very good recipe. It tasted delicious and it was a cinch to make. Next time I may use a half a can of more soup or add a little more milk just to make it a little more "soupier". It took a little more time to bake (50 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Great pie, would be 5 stars except I added an extra can of potato soup. And it took a bit longer to cook than stated, although probably depends on your oven. Delicious and great even as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
This was a hit at my house! It is FANTASTIC! I used thawed, frozen veggies but followed everything else exactly. It does take a little longer to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States