Old Fashioned Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
My husband and kids loved this recipe!!! I altered it by adding defrosted frozen grean beans, peas and carrots and omitted the thyme and salt. I also added an extra half can of cream of chicken because I had it in the pantry and the mixture seemed a little bit too firm. I also prebaked the bottom of the pie for 5 minutes and had to increase the cooking time to 45 min (but maybe that's just my oven). Great recipe.....will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I had to adjust this recipe because I didn't realize it was not meant for a deep dish pan...my mistake! I added 2 more cans of veggies and a can of cream of chicken. Very good. Next time I'll double this recipe to fill my deep dish pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
A very easy and tasty dish. I used frozen vegetables instead of canned, but I would not recommend this. The vegetables weren't thawed completely and it made the whole dish quite watery. Otherwise, this was perfect. Just the right amount of spices. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
This is a GREAT RECIPE!!!!!!!!!!! I'd give it 10 stars if I could!!! I couldn't help myself, I made a couple tiny changes that make this recipe sing! I poached my chicken with Bell's poultry seasoning- that's the key-, added a little more milk (1/2cup total) and a second can of cream of potato soup. I've tried this with frozen mixed veg and with Veg-All brand canned mixed vegetables and the Veg-All is the way to go! This meal is completed, in our house, with some cranberry sauce....DELICIOUS!!!!!!! EASY!!!!!!! WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
This is a good start for a recipe. I added a can of cream of mushroom soup and quite a bit more milk to get it to the consistency that I like. I also used two frozen pie crusts (thawed) and I baked the bottom crust before I poured the chicken mixture into it. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELEXAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I made this with phillo dough instead of pie crust and came out great. I'll make this again but use fresh ingredients instead as you could tell the vegetables were canned. I used more milk than what was called for, about double and omitted the salt. Very good starter recipe for someone just learning to make homemade pot pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
This recipe is simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
This recipe turned out pretty good. It did seem like a lot of work considering how many pre-made frozen pot pie dishes there are available on the market. I made the following changes: cut thyme in half, added frozen mixed vegetables, added a can of pearl onions to the sauce (this was a huge mistake). If you enjoy the flavor of onions I recommend adding onion powder instead of the pearl onions I tried. They did not blend in with the dish and the texture was not something I enjoyed. I will probably not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
This was a hit at my house! It is FANTASTIC! I used thawed, frozen veggies but followed everything else exactly. It does take a little longer to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
Excellent. I recomend adding a good shot of both garlic and onion powder. Beware if you're timing it closely because my pie took a little over an hour to bake completely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States