Old Fashioned Chicken Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Cooking time waaaayyy off. Really needs to cook about 50 minutes so plan accordingly. Otherwise, my family really enjoyed. We tend to like spicier dishes so I used creole seasoning instead of the thyme, salt and pepper. Next time I would add more spices to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Easy and very yummy!! I took advise from others and did not use the thyme. While cooking the chicken, I added some diced onions, celery and potatoes. I used cream of chicken and omitted the cream of celery and cream of potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
i love this recipe. i added 2 cans of cream of potato soup instead of one. it need more cooking time. almost a hour.. whenever i have leftover chicken or turkey i make this pie...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Great Recipe but I made this in my Demarle Texas muffin tray. Great for individual servings. recipe is right on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is a good recipe, easy to fix, and great comfort food. I used a refrigerated pie crust. I also left out the thyme because I'm not fond of it. Other than that I went exactly by this recipe. I don't like it when others rate a recipe low based on their idea of the nutrition value of the recipe. I also don't care to read that someone liked it but made a few changes. Or in other words they made an entirely different dish with their 'few' changes. If you think this is too high in sodium you can use low sodium soups and leave out the salt. If you're not comfortable with that make something else for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This is the best pot pie recipe I have tried. I didn't make my own pastry, I used the Tenderflake pie shells. I did not change anything other than that. It is the easiest pot pie I've made. I'm not sure why people have said it's a lot of work. How hard is it to open a few cans of soup/veggies? I will definitely be making this again and again and again.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Like some, I substituted frozen veggies for the canned. Since I have to be careful with salt, I used Campbells Healthy Request soups. They contain less sodium. Plus No-Salt substitute works as well for the "Salt to Taste". Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Really fast and easy to make. I used refrigerated pie crust, veg all canned mixed vegetables. I omitted the thyme. Next time I will increase the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I used this recipe more for the method than the exact flavor. The method was good. I made two pies, but I only had one top crust, so I made a lattice top on both. I used Golden Mushroom soup, and a lot more milk than called for to thin it out. Should've thinned it more, the lattice top doesn't hold the steam in the way a full top crust does. I added a lot of other herbs and spices. Even tossed in some dried mustard greens I had lying around. The chicken I used was a smoked chicken, and I used a little less than half a smoked chicken in the two pies with a lot of frozen mixed veg I heated in the microwave. It took a good deal longer to bake than the 25 to 30 minutes, but it was a deep dish pie, and there were two. Hubby was very happy with it, the kids loved it. Rating it four stars because it obviously needs a lot more interest than the base recipe--more herbs and spices, etc. But the method is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States