Old-Fashioned Chicken And Slick Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
These are delicious and so easy, thanks for sharing. I've been searching for a dumpling recipe that was like the ones I grew up eating and this is it. The only change I made was to use Crisco, because I forgot to render the chicken fat, and I added some of the stock in place of the water. My family loves them so these will definitely be added to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I don't even have to cook this to give it 5 stars! It's virtually identical to the recipe my family has used for generations - Freddie Bee's Dumplings! She'd roll them out very thin.... The firm texture's not for everybody, but it's the only way to go as far as I'm concerned. The sweet potato is a new addition for me, but I'll sure try it. Thanks for posting -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Everyone loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Saw this cooked up on a tv show. Freeze your slicks for 10 to 30 min and all can be dumped into simmering liquid, they hold up better if frozen. Freeze them in single layers or put parchment paper between stacks or they will glob together. For better flavor brown chicken first and use stock vs water. To thicken stew juice you need to brown about 2-3 TBS flour then temper with some hot stock. Gently stir into slicks just about three min. before they are done. We omit potato and add diced carrots and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
The dumplings totally flopped for me. The recipe wasn't clear enough for a novice. I didn't know if the dumplings should lay on top of the chicken & vegetables, or be submerged. I tried both ways and neither worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Thank you for the recipe, my family enjoyed it very much. The dumplings where easy to make and a nice addition.The sweet potatoes gave the broth a nice flavor. I used chicken stock along with water for the liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAMBR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Wonderful ! Being a Brit married to a full blown Southern Man, Im surprised I havnt made it before. I used frozen stock from previous boilings of chicken carcasses...plus the fat skimmed off the top of said boilings for the dumplings. Doesnt need that amount of chicken meat if the stock is good !! Compromised on the shape of the dumplings..made half the 'proper' big and fluffy way and half the Southern way !! All in all it was delicious ! He'll have me making cornbread and turnip greens next :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worksop, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I made this and I have to say, it is quite delicious! But then I looked at the calories and fat. Now, if comfort food that is super yummy is all you're after, that's great! This dish is for you!! But if you are also looking for something delicious AND a bit healthier, this one won't fit the bill. With 1146 calories per serving and over 51 grams of fat, I can't justify this dish in my repertoire (I'm 5' 3" and 108 pounds and 1200 calories is my total allotment for the day, so a serving of this would be all I could eat in a day! haha). Again, I'm not slamming this dish, it really is quite delicious, I'm just making those of you who are a bit more health (and calorie) conscious aware of the nutritional facts for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Awesome....I did buy store bought flat dumplings....I'm curious how the homemade ones turn out, but I'm too lazy. This was a BIG HIT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Lee Mercer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Finally! Someone who knew what I was talking about when using the term "dumpling". I'm from the south and these are the dumplings my mama made, (though not with chicken fat). Brilliant. And the adding at five minute intervals worked great. No stuck together dumplings, and a little break down to create a lovely sauce. Thanks! I'll try the whole recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States