Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Bottom line - this recipe tasted even better than I had hoped! Wow, the mingling of all of the flavors served to make it a taste explosion. And the noodles were fantastic. My family loved this dish, which I served with "Make Ahead Mashed Potatoes," also available at Allrecipes.com. For me, three cups of flour for the noodles wasn't enough to make the dough workable. I used something closer to four. The dough was just too gooey to work with before I added the extra flour. Even adding all of the extra flour, the noodles were still sticking together. Next time, I'll let them dry out longer. I grew up with longer noddles, and made that style, which I cut with a pizza cutter - an fantastic and easy technique. I saw no real need to strain the celery and carrots with the chicken. When the chicken was cooked, I just took the pieces out individually, removing meat from the bones, then placed the meat back in the pot - no reason to fiddle around with the straining process. I've got to say I'm honored to be the first to review this dish - one I will remember well and serve again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
This is a good basic start, I also add 1 Tb chicken boullion granules, 1 bay leaf and some parsley flakes. Easy and good or better than homemade, shortcut is to get some homemade style frozen egg noodles and use 1/2 bag, add about 1/2 hour before serving. I also like to make Bisquick dumplings because they thicken the broth just enough and add the ultimate comfort to this food!If your broth is getting low add more water or a can of chicken broth so the dumplings have plenty of liquid to boil in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Great recipe, i had a bit of trouble making the noodles, so i used egg noodles instead, a little easier to :). Other that that, great, i add more vegies and chicken because i like a thinker soup, and also a bit of poultry seasoning for flavor, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithshire, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
My husband has the flu and my mother in law came for a visit. I tried to find a recipe that would keep me in the kitchen most of the day and away from her. This was a big disapointment. It was so easy to make that I was forced to spend time with her while she was here. It did score me points with her because it was so good. The only adjustments I made was adding 2 bay leaves, minced garlic, salt, cornstarch, and I used 4 1/2 containers of chicken broth we like more broth) instead of 3. The noodles were SUPER easy. I generously floured the counter and generously floured the top of the dough. Then I rolled out the dough and cut with a pizza cutter. Before putting them into the pot I shook off the excess. I let the noodles dry out a little bit before adding. It kept them from sticking together. I will never eat canned soup again. This is THE chicken noodle soup recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Fantastic recipe! I did add a bay leaf to the chicken broth as it cooked. Definitely use chicken on the bone, and both light and dark meat as they add to of the flavor of the broth. I also added a bit more flour to the noodle recipe, just enough to make the dough a bit more workable, and then rolled them and cut them into strips about an inch wide. Be careful here, too much flour will ruin the noodles. The review where the person forgot to bring the broth to a boil prior adding the giant lump of noodles is good information for the novice cook, however I don't feel the rating is fair insofar as the recipe is concerned because the result was doomed from the start. Doing this type of thing takes loving time and patience. If you don't have the time, then save it for another day. Afterall, good homemade chicken soup is great year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
My husband and I were both born and raised in the south and grew up on homemade chicken and dumplings (not from a can) and this is by far the worst I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I followed Grandma Gorgeous's suggestions and thickened this with about 3 T. of cornstarch mixed with cold water...my grandma calls it a "slurry". It was great, both my picky daughters cleaned it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This recipe is great. I have made one minor change for ease of preperation. I use boneless/skinless chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken. You don't need to strain the broth this way, just spoon out the big pieces, much less messy. I also use the Rolled Dumplings recipe and just cut them like big noodles. Easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
EXCELLENT chicken soup. Got rave reviews from my family (even my 3yr old). I tried making the noodles and they just weren't coming out the way I thought they should so I bought a box of dried german spatzel (like a tiny dumpling) instead. Turned out great and made the soup nice and hearty! I also added a bay leave and some dried parsley as others recommended. I also served this with bacon lettuce and tomato sandwiches. Will add to my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLPATTERSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was a new and quick recipe for me beacause my grandchildren would pick out the cooked celery and onion before eating and so straining the large pieces out worked great. I used the large no-yolk noodles after cooking in chicken broth, added a can of cream of mushroom soup to the finished product and got raves from all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States