Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Bottom line - this recipe tasted even better than I had hoped! Wow, the mingling of all of the flavors served to make it a taste explosion. And the noodles were fantastic. My family loved this dish, which I served with "Make Ahead Mashed Potatoes," also available at Allrecipes.com. For me, three cups of flour for the noodles wasn't enough to make the dough workable. I used something closer to four. The dough was just too gooey to work with before I added the extra flour. Even adding all of the extra flour, the noodles were still sticking together. Next time, I'll let them dry out longer. I grew up with longer noddles, and made that style, which I cut with a pizza cutter - an fantastic and easy technique. I saw no real need to strain the celery and carrots with the chicken. When the chicken was cooked, I just took the pieces out individually, removing meat from the bones, then placed the meat back in the pot - no reason to fiddle around with the straining process. I've got to say I'm honored to be the first to review this dish - one I will remember well and serve again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
This is a good basic start, I also add 1 Tb chicken boullion granules, 1 bay leaf and some parsley flakes. Easy and good or better than homemade, shortcut is to get some homemade style frozen egg noodles and use 1/2 bag, add about 1/2 hour before serving. I also like to make Bisquick dumplings because they thicken the broth just enough and add the ultimate comfort to this food!If your broth is getting low add more water or a can of chicken broth so the dumplings have plenty of liquid to boil in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
I made this recipe today for dinner. I wasn't even half way finished when my family was hanging around the kitchen and dining room. My dogs were even underfoot. It was easy and the taste was awesome. They ate almost all of it at dinner. I know I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This was good. Since I forgot to bring the chicken/broth to a boil before adding the noodles, the noodles ended up tough but still tasted good. Suggestion: when cutting the dough into noodles, be sure to seperate each and put into boiling broth. I put them in a pile as I cut them and before I got them to the broth, they became a big mass instead of individual noodles! I had to start over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This recipe is great. I have made one minor change for ease of preperation. I use boneless/skinless chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken. You don't need to strain the broth this way, just spoon out the big pieces, much less messy. I also use the Rolled Dumplings recipe and just cut them like big noodles. Easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
Very delicious! I used another noodle recipe, but this was great and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
this was so yummy! everyone thinks it's a chinese dish--thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I followed Grandma Gorgeous's suggestions and thickened this with about 3 T. of cornstarch mixed with cold water...my grandma calls it a "slurry". It was great, both my picky daughters cleaned it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This is the best chicken noodle soup recipe I have found so far. My 7 yr old had 3 bowls - he loved it, and he asked before the table was cleaned up if we were going to have leftovers the next day for lunch. I also added some corn starch to thicken and I had some Amish-made noodles too (easier for me!) so I didn't try the noodle recipe. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Fantastic recipe! I did add a bay leaf to the chicken broth as it cooked. Definitely use chicken on the bone, and both light and dark meat as they add to of the flavor of the broth. I also added a bit more flour to the noodle recipe, just enough to make the dough a bit more workable, and then rolled them and cut them into strips about an inch wide. Be careful here, too much flour will ruin the noodles. The review where the person forgot to bring the broth to a boil prior adding the giant lump of noodles is good information for the novice cook, however I don't feel the rating is fair insofar as the recipe is concerned because the result was doomed from the start. Doing this type of thing takes loving time and patience. If you don't have the time, then save it for another day. Afterall, good homemade chicken soup is great year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States