Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Very good. Family loved it. I did follow one reviewer's suggestion and added 3T cornstarch and cold water to thicken slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
IT was very good but i didn't roll my noodles out enough to make them thin enough so I had monster noodles. This was even better the second day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
The flavor of this was pretty good, but I had so much trouble with the noodles. This is my first time making homemade noodles. A big part of the problem is that I'm 2 months pregnant. The whole chicken just didn't appeal to me so if I do this next time it will be all white meat chicken. My husband liked it, but we didn't touch any of it for leftovers. Will try other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Fantastic recipe! I did add a bay leaf to the chicken broth as it cooked. Definitely use chicken on the bone, and both light and dark meat as they add to of the flavor of the broth. I also added a bit more flour to the noodle recipe, just enough to make the dough a bit more workable, and then rolled them and cut them into strips about an inch wide. Be careful here, too much flour will ruin the noodles. The review where the person forgot to bring the broth to a boil prior adding the giant lump of noodles is good information for the novice cook, however I don't feel the rating is fair insofar as the recipe is concerned because the result was doomed from the start. Doing this type of thing takes loving time and patience. If you don't have the time, then save it for another day. Afterall, good homemade chicken soup is great year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This is the best chicken noodle soup recipe I have found so far. My 7 yr old had 3 bowls - he loved it, and he asked before the table was cleaned up if we were going to have leftovers the next day for lunch. I also added some corn starch to thicken and I had some Amish-made noodles too (easier for me!) so I didn't try the noodle recipe. This is definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I followed Grandma Gorgeous's suggestions and thickened this with about 3 T. of cornstarch mixed with cold water...my grandma calls it a "slurry". It was great, both my picky daughters cleaned it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
this was so yummy! everyone thinks it's a chinese dish--thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
Very delicious! I used another noodle recipe, but this was great and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This recipe is great. I have made one minor change for ease of preperation. I use boneless/skinless chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken. You don't need to strain the broth this way, just spoon out the big pieces, much less messy. I also use the Rolled Dumplings recipe and just cut them like big noodles. Easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This was good. Since I forgot to bring the chicken/broth to a boil before adding the noodles, the noodles ended up tough but still tasted good. Suggestion: when cutting the dough into noodles, be sure to seperate each and put into boiling broth. I put them in a pile as I cut them and before I got them to the broth, they became a big mass instead of individual noodles! I had to start over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States