Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
We loved this recipe. Delicious flavor, especially the nice addition of the celery tops. (We usually dry ours, so I used some dried ones I had on hand.) I rolled out the noodles and cut in thin strips. Wonderful. Will make again, by family request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
My only complaints are that (1) though I followed the recipe my noodle dough was not the right consistency and (2) the recipe didn't call for enough salt. I put some rice and extra salt, and ended up with a delicious Chicken and Rice Soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tt2b123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I use this recipe about once a month. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
THIS IS THE TASTE I WAS LOOKING FOR!!! This is the perfect noodle recipe! Myself, I always use garlic salt in my noodles, but that's just because of our personal taste. Yes, you must use light & dark meat or you won't get the same rich taste. Also, don't worry if your noodles aren't perfect! Roll them out as very thin as you can & use a pizza cutter, or spin little pieces out in your hands or even drop little nut-size balls in....The kids love to help with this. They may take a little longer to cook, but food should be fun! And doesn't that make it more "home-made"? Great recipe, the taste of Grandma's house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Stafford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
The chicken was AWESOME! I did baking mix dumplings as I didn't have eggs and flour - but I added the oil to baking mix with milk - YUM. I'll be saving this for winter time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Platte, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This was a new and quick recipe for me beacause my grandchildren would pick out the cooked celery and onion before eating and so straining the large pieces out worked great. I used the large no-yolk noodles after cooking in chicken broth, added a can of cream of mushroom soup to the finished product and got raves from all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This reminder me of my grandmother's recipe. I actually used her noodle recipe but lacked the chicken part till now. This same concept works well with beef. I added a good bit of salt and pepper and a dash of fresh garlic. It was a snowy day and I cooked the chicken for a good while. I would suggest to make the noodles almost paper thin. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHASHLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
My husband has the flu and my mother in law came for a visit. I tried to find a recipe that would keep me in the kitchen most of the day and away from her. This was a big disapointment. It was so easy to make that I was forced to spend time with her while she was here. It did score me points with her because it was so good. The only adjustments I made was adding 2 bay leaves, minced garlic, salt, cornstarch, and I used 4 1/2 containers of chicken broth we like more broth) instead of 3. The noodles were SUPER easy. I generously floured the counter and generously floured the top of the dough. Then I rolled out the dough and cut with a pizza cutter. Before putting them into the pot I shook off the excess. I let the noodles dry out a little bit before adding. It kept them from sticking together. I will never eat canned soup again. This is THE chicken noodle soup recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This is a great recipe! I've made it twice on those cold days when you feel a cold coming on and it warms you to the bone! Only extra thing I did was add one clove of minced garlic. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I add more veggies (mushrooms, zucchini) and skim off the extra fat that floats on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States