Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This reminder me of my grandmother's recipe. I actually used her noodle recipe but lacked the chicken part till now. This same concept works well with beef. I added a good bit of salt and pepper and a dash of fresh garlic. It was a snowy day and I cooked the chicken for a good while. I would suggest to make the noodles almost paper thin. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHASHLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
My husband has the flu and my mother in law came for a visit. I tried to find a recipe that would keep me in the kitchen most of the day and away from her. This was a big disapointment. It was so easy to make that I was forced to spend time with her while she was here. It did score me points with her because it was so good. The only adjustments I made was adding 2 bay leaves, minced garlic, salt, cornstarch, and I used 4 1/2 containers of chicken broth we like more broth) instead of 3. The noodles were SUPER easy. I generously floured the counter and generously floured the top of the dough. Then I rolled out the dough and cut with a pizza cutter. Before putting them into the pot I shook off the excess. I let the noodles dry out a little bit before adding. It kept them from sticking together. I will never eat canned soup again. This is THE chicken noodle soup recipe for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This is a great recipe! I've made it twice on those cold days when you feel a cold coming on and it warms you to the bone! Only extra thing I did was add one clove of minced garlic. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I add more veggies (mushrooms, zucchini) and skim off the extra fat that floats on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
loved it, great noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANAVONS
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Just like my Grandma used to make! I rolled the noodle dough out and cut into slices. Turned out great! VERY hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Great recipe, i had a bit of trouble making the noodles, so i used egg noodles instead, a little easier to :). Other that that, great, i add more vegies and chicken because i like a thinker soup, and also a bit of poultry seasoning for flavor, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithshire, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Nice basic recipe. I added additional salt and thyme for a fuller flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Very good! I am a horrible noodle maker, so I used boxed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
I loved this soup! It was my first time making homemade "noodles" and I loved them. They weren't the prettiest things, but tasted delicious. Next time I will try to make them smaller. The soup had great flavor though! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States